Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Indian GP: Massa tops 2nd practice
Felipe Massa
Felipe Massa put Ferrari on top in the second free practice session ahead of this weekend's inaugural Indian grand prix at the Buddh International circuit.

Massa lapped the dusty track in 1m25.706s 18 minutes before the end of the session to claim the top spot from champion Sebastian Vettel by just 0.088s, whose Red Bull had been quickest for the majority of the afternoon and was not trying to go faster at the end.

His Ferrari teammate Fernando Alonso was third, 0.224 seconds behind Massa.

Lewis Hamilton, who will go into qualifying for a three-place grid penalty for disregarding yellow flags earlier today, was fourth quickest in the best of the McLarens, with his teammate Jenson Button sixth behind Mark Webber's Red Bull.

D'Ambrosio, with40 minutes remaining, lost control of his Virgin racer, slid across the track and crashed heavily into the barriers. Significant damage to the rear right of the car and red flags. D'Ambrosio was okay.

The action resumed five minutes later with everyone but D'Ambrosio putting in the laps. Adrian Sutil improved to seventh place ahead of Senna, Paul di Resta and Buemi. Kamui Kobayashi was the latest to run off the track and bump over the grass. Alonso put in two fastest sectors to take second place, 0.422s behind Vettel. But while Alonso could not do it, Massa could, overhauling Vettel with a 1:25.706.

Schumacher and Sutil almost crashed into Vettel as the German exited the pits. This is something that will need to be looked into as this is not the first time this session that has almost happened.



Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m25.706s +0.000s 33
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m25.794s +0.088 34
3. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m25.930s +0.224 34
4. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m26.454s +0.748 26
5. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m26.500s +0.794 30
6. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m26.714s +1.008 28
7. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m27.316s +1.610 34
8. Bruno Senna Renault 1m27.498s +1.792 36
9. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m27.853s +2.147 35
10. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m27.868s +2.162 35
11. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m27.890s +2.184 37
12. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m28.050s +2.344 34
13. Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m28.289s +2.583 36
14. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m28.552s +2.846 31
15. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m28.691s +2.985 29
16. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m28.708s +3.002 24
17. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m29.332s +3.626 39
18. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m30.241s +4.535 41
19. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m31.098s +5.392 38
20. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m31.469s +5.763 32
21. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m31.804s +6.098 28
22. Jerome D'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m32.593s +6.887 12
23. Tonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1m32.768s +7.062 33
24. Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 1m32.824s +7.118 33

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review