Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Marco Wittmann secures Macau Formula 3 Grand Prix pole
Another damp, overcast day in Macau
Marco Wittmann has secured pole position for the “SJM” Macau Grand Prix qualification race after delivering the fastest time in a thrilling final qualifying session on Friday.

The German maintained the strong form he showed in the morning’s free practice session, as drivers experienced dry conditions for the first time this weekend, to move to the top of the standings early on.

However, after 11 minutes, Roberto Merhi showed what he was capable of as he moved to the front briefly, before Felipe Nasr then delivered the top time. Wittmann responded with 10 minutes of the session remaining to move back to the top of the timesheets, but he was knocked off the top again by Merhi.

Marco Whitmann
On his final lap of the session though, Wittmann was able to find more time and his best lap of 2m12.790s left him just 0.064 seconds in front of Merhi.

“To do it on the last lap was really amazing,” said Wittmann. “It is a great feeling to finish first in qualifying, but still we have two long races to go. You can overtake here easily on the straight, but I think we have good pace and I am quite confident.”

Although Merhi qualified second, he will be moved down the grid after being handed a seven place penalty for causing an accident with Felix Rosenqvist in first qualifying on Thursday.

Merhi’s penalty means that Antonio da Costa, who qualified third, will start alongside Wittmann on the front row. Valtteri Bottas proved that his late arrival at the event, following his travels from the Formula 1 test in Abu Dhabi, had not slowed him down as he set the fourth quickest time – which will secure him third on the grid.

Nasr dropped to sixth in the standings, behind Alexander Sims, after crashing late in the session.

Final Qualifying Macau F3


Driver Team/Car Time Behind
1. Marco Wittmann (D) Signature Dallara-VW 2m12.790s +0.000s
2. Roberto Merhi (E) Prema Dallara-Merc 2m12.854s +0.064s
3. Antonio Felix da Costa (P) Hitech Dallara-VW 2m13.115s +0.325s
4. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Double R Dallara-Merc 2m13.192s +0.402s
5. Alexander Sims (GB) TOM'S Dallara-Toyota 2m13.407s +0.617s
6. Felipe Nasr (BR) Carlin Dallara-VW 2m13.429s +0.639s
7. Kevin Magnussen (DK) Carlin Dallara-VW 2m13.518s +0.728s
8. Felix Rosenqvist (S) Mucke Dallara-Merc 2m13.528s +0.738s
9. Carlos Huertas (COL) Carlin Dallara-VW 2m13.704s +0.914s
10. Yuhi Sekiguchi (J) Mucke Dallara-Merc 2m13.850s +1.060s
11. Laurens Vanthoor (B) Signature Dallara-VW 2m13.973s +1.183s
12. Marko Asmer (EST) Double R Dallara-Merc 2m14.011s +1.221s
13. Carlos Munoz (COL) Signature Dallara-VW 2m14.020s +1.230s
14. Daniel Juncadella (E) Prema Dallara-Merc 2m14.064s +1.274s
15. Kimiya Sato (J) Motopark Dallara-VW 2m14.246s +1.456s
16. Pietro Fantin (BR) Hitech Dallara-VW 2m14.415s +1.625s
17. Jazeman Jaafar (MAL) Carlin Dallara-VW 2m14.477s +1.687s
18. Carlos Sainz Jr (E) Signature Dallara-VW 2m14.511s +1.721s
19. Daniel Abt (D) Signature Dallara-VW 2m14.513s +1.723s
20. Hannes van Asseldonk (NL) Hitech Dallara-VW 2m14.591s +1.801s
21. Richie Stanaway (NZ) Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW 2m14.625s +1.835s
22. William Buller (GB) Fortec Dallara-Merc 2m14.649s +1.859s
23. Hideki Yamauchi (J) Toda Dallara-Honda 2m14.863s +2.073s
24. Hywel Lloyd (GB) Sino Vision Dallara-Merc 2m15.022s +2.232s
25. Lucas Foresti (BR) Fortec Dallara-Merc 2m15.061s +2.271s
26. Richard Bradley (GB) TOM'S Dallara-Toyota 2m15.855s +3.065s
27. Adderly Fong (HK) Sino Vision Dallara-Merc 2m16.666s +3.876s
28. Hironobu Yasuda (J) Three Bond Dallara-Nissan 2m22.302s +9.512s
29. Jimmy Eriksson (S) Motopark Dallara-VW 2m55.360s +42.570s
30. Mitch Evans (NZ) Double R Dallara-Merc - -

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review