Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Fisher wins Team Principal award
Ed Carpenter won the Kentucky IndyCar race this year for the Fisher team
Sarah Fisher, owner of the Izod IndyCar Series team Sarah Fisher racing, on Nov. 17 won the team principal of the year award at the Professional MotorSport World Expo Awards in Cologne, Germany.

Sarah Fisher Racing on Oct. 2 earned its first-ever IndyCar Series win, at Kentucky Speedway with driver Ed Carpenter. This year marked the team's fourth season of competition. In forming the team in February 2008, Fisher became the series' first female owner/driver. She's also the series' youngest team owner.

Fisher stopped driving following the 2010 season to concentrate on management duties full time. In September, she gave birth to daughter Zoey.

"What an incredible honor to receive such a prestigious award," Fisher said. "We are a small team who as a small group go above and beyond our job titles to get the job done both on and off track. Our team is built on the leadership from every individual here. They all contribute so much to our goals and successes and we all take ownership together in both the good and bad times.

"This award means a lot as well to my husband, Andy, the COO of SFR, who has been a rock-solid leader for the team especially during my temporary absence in delivering our first child, Zoey, back in September."

The 20-member judging panel, which included Andretti Autosport owner Michael Andretti and Andrea Toso of Dallara Automobili, was quick to recognize the team's efforts.

"To take your first win shortly after you've lost your major sponsor, in an arena as competitive as Indy cars and to do it while going through childbirth . . . that takes a lot of spirit, determination and refusal to be daunted. My hat's off to Sarah Fisher," said panelist David Tremayne, a freelance motorsports journalist.

Other nominees were Amato Ferrari of AF Corse, Olivier Quesnel of Citro├źn Racing & Peugeot Sport, and Frank Wrathall of DynoJet Racing.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review