Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Wittmann controls Macau Formula 3 GP qualification race
Marco Whitmann
German Marco Wittmann triumphed in the “SJM” Macau Grand Prix Qualification Race on Saturday with a dominant performance as he led every lap.

The Signature driver got away perfectly from pole position, after front row starter Antonio da Costa failed to get away because of a broken first gear.

Despite Wittmann briefly losing the lead to Carlin’s Felipe Nasr on the run to Lisboa, he was able to retake the front spot as they turned into the corner.

Wittmann then pushed hard to open up an advantage over the remainder of the opening lap, and he crossed the finish line 1.1 seconds clear of Nasr – before steadily extending his lead up to 1.5 seconds by lap four.

Spain's Roberto Merhi went from 9th (grid penalty) to 3rd, can he win tomorrow?
By this stage Nasr was coming under pressure from the fast-starting Roberto Merhi, who had moved up from eighth on the grid to fourth place by the end of the opening lap. His charge was helped in part by da Costa’s stall and Alexander Sims, who was supposed to start fourth, crashing on the way to the grid.

Merhi dived past Valtteri Bottas under braking for Lisboa on lap two to take third place and then he closed in on Nasr. But despite a few attempts to overtake the Brazilian at Lisboa – with the pair getting extremely close at the start of lap nine – the Spaniard could not find a way past.

Left to right: Felipe Nasr (British Champ) Marco Wittmann (Euroseries 2nd) and Roberto Merhi (Euroseries Champ)
Their battle eventually ended when the safety car came out on lap nine, after Jimmy Eriksson crashed his Motopark car at the Faraway section of track. His damaged machine was left stranded on the track.

The race finished under the safety car, with Wittmann coming home ahead of Nasr and Merhi. Bottas finished fourth, ahead of Carlos Huertas and Daniel Juncadella.

Speaking about his success Wittmann said: “It is never easy in Macau, and it was important I made a good start. I did that, and then I pushed hard to build up a good gap which was key to the win.”

Results - 10 laps


Driver Team/Car Behind
1. Marco Wittmann (D) Signature Dallara-VW +0.000s
2. Felipe Nasr (BR) Carlin Dallara-VW +0.867s
3. Roberto Merhi (E) Prema Dallara-Merc +3.483s
4. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Double R Dallara-Merc +4.270s
5. Carlos Huertas (COL) Carlin Dallara-VW +4.850s
6. Daniel Juncadella (E) Prema Dallara-Merc +5.381s
7. Laurens Vanthoor (B) Signature Dallara-VW +6.512s
8. Daniel Abt (D) Signature Dallara-VW +7.228s
9. Kimiya Sato (J) Motopark Dallara-VW +8.154s
10. Hannes van Asseldonk (NL) Hitech Dallara-VW +9.337s
11. Hideki Yamauchi (J) Toda Dallara-Honda +10.200s
12. Yuhi Sekiguchi (J) Mucke Dallara-Merc +10.789s
13. William Buller (GB) Fortec Dallara-Merc +11.086s
14. Lucas Foresti (BR) Fortec Dallara-Merc +11.517s
15. Richie Stanaway (NZ) Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +12.167s
16. Hywel Lloyd (GB) Sino Vision Dallara-Merc +12.888s
17. Jazeman Jaafar (MAL) Carlin Dallara-VW +13.967s
18. Marko Asmer (EST) Double R Dallara-Merc +14.933s
19. Kevin Magnussen (DK) Carlin Dallara-VW +15.558s
20. Carlos Sainz Jr (E) Signature Dallara-VW +16.388s
21. Felix Rosenqvist (S) Mucke Dallara-Merc +16.924s
22. Mitch Evans (NZ) Double R Dallara-Merc +18.601s
23. Jimmy Eriksson )S) Motopark Dallara-VW DNF 7 laps
24. Adderly Fong (HK) Sino Vision Dallara-Merc DNF 6 laps
25. Richard Bradley (GB) TOM's Dallara-Toyota DNF 5 laps
26. Antonio Felix da Costa (P) Hitech Dallara-VW DNF 4 laps
27. Hironobu Yasuda (J) Three Bond Dallara-Nissan DNF 3 laps
28. Carlos Munoz (COL) Signature Dallara-VW DNF 1 lap
29. Pietro Fantin (BR) Hitech Dallara-VW DNF 0 laps
30. Alexander Sims (GB) TOM'S Dallara-Toyota DNF 0 laps

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review