Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Brazilian grand prix preview
The 2011 FIA Formula 1 World Championship draws to a close at Interlagos at Brazil on Sunday with the title pretty well done and dusted.

After his demise last time to that mystery first lap puncture, Sebastian Vettel will be out to put his only retirement of the season well behind him and should be fired up to set a new pole-positions-in-a-season record before romping off to his last hurrah for the year.

But Interlagos has a habit of throwing a spanner in the works - think last years qualifying with Nico Hulkenberg's shock pole, Hamilton beating Massa to the title on the last lap a few years ago and look at how many dark horses appear in the roll of honor below.

Which will hopefully make it that much more interesting - until you consider that Red Bull has pretty well dominated the last two years come to racing. Still, the dice is on for second - Alonso is well within striking distance of Button and Webber's ready to pick up all the pieces, while Hamilton still has a shot at third.

Further back, there's a dice for 7th between Mercedes mates Rosberg and Schumacher, while in the race for the also-rans it's all between Petrov and Sutil with Kobayashi, Alguersuari and di Resta within a shot of displacing the absent Heidfeld too. Strange that - Nick was enroute to that best-of-the-rest slot and his replacement has not yet scored. Perhaps he will at home.

Interlagos can play havoc with weather but the drama is always high, the fans intensely involved and the racing good with passing and dicing already a factor even without fake devices to cause it. It's a real racetrack - why not enjoy it just for that Sunday evening?

FIA Formula One World Championship
Round 19 - Interlagos 27 November 2011

71 Laps of 4.309km – 305.909km

Lap Record: Juan-Pablo Montoya - Williams 1:11.473 (2004)

Friday 25 November 
Practice 1    15:00-16:30
Practice 2    09:00-20:30
Saturday 26 November
Practice 3    16:00-17:00
Qualifying    19:00-20:00
Sunday 27 November
Race                19h00

Previous Winners
2002    Michael Schumacher      Ferrari
2003    Giancarlo Fisichella    Jordan
2004    Juan-Pablo Montoya      Williams
2005    Juan-Pablo Montoya      McLaren
2006    Felipe Massa            Ferrari
2007    Kimi Raikkonen          Ferrari
2008    Felipe Massa            Ferrari
2009    Mark Webber            Red Bull
2010 1. Sebastian Vettel        Red Bull
    2. Mark Webber            Red Bull
    3. Fernando Alonso        Ferrari
    4. Lewis Hamilton          McLaren
    5. Jenson Button          McLaren
    6. Nico Rosberg            Mercedes
    7. Michael Schumacher      Mercedes
    8. Nico Hulkenberg        Williams
    9. Robert Kubica          Renault
    10. Kamui Kobayashi        Sauber

Fastest Lap: Hamilton - 1:13.851
Pole Position: Hulkenberg - 1:14.470

2011 World Championship before Brazilian grand prix
Drivers:              Constructors:           
1.  Vettel      374  1.  Red Bull-Renault      607
2.  Button      255  2.  McLaren-Mercedes      482
3.  Alonso      245  3.  Ferrari              353
4.  Webber      233  4.  Mercedes              159
5.  Hamilton    227  5.  Renault                72
6.  Massa        108  6.  Force India-Mercedes  57
7.  Rosberg      83  7.  Sauber-Ferrari        42
8.  Schumacher    76  8.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari    41
9.  Petrov        36  9.  Williams-Cosworth      5
10.  Sutil        34     
11.  Heidfeld      34     
12.  Kobayashi    28     
13.  Alguersuari  26     
14.  Di Resta      23     
15.  Buemi        15     
16.  Perez        14     
17.  Barrichello    4

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review