Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
SpeedSource Announces Driver Lineup For Rolex 24
SpeedSource has set its driver lineup for the No. 70 MAZDASPEED RX-8 in the 2012 Rolex 24 At Daytona. Joining full-season drivers Sylvain Tremblay and Jonathan Bomarito will be James Hinchcliffe and Marino Franchitti . Both are Mazda alums, Franchitti from the American Le Mans Series and Hinchcliffe from Formula Atlantic and Star Mazda.

Hinchcliffe competed in the IZOD IndyCar Series in 2011, placing 12th in the final point standings. He captured the Sunoco Rookie of the Year award with four fourth-place finishes among seven top-10 finishes. He also finished second in the 2010 Firestone Indy Lights Championship with three victories.

"I'm thrilled to be able to race in the Rolex 24 At Daytona," Hinchcliffe said. "That race has been on my bucket list and to get the chance now is awesome. I know a little bit of what to expect because I did a race with SpeedSource back in 2005, so it will be great to reunite with Sylvain and the guys and get back in the RX-8. It's a huge opportunity."

The SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 will also have a new look for 2012, showcasing the MAZDASPEED corporate look as long-term partner Castrol transitions into an associate sponsor role for 2012,

SpeedSource is a two-time GT winner of the Rolex 24, capturing honors in 2008 and 2010. Tremblay was part of the lineup in both victories, with Bomarito kicking off his MESCO Rookie of the Year campaign in 2010. The pair finished third in the standings in both 2010 and 2011.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review