Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Turner Motorsport Announces Two-Car BMW Effort for Rolex 24
Will Turner announced that Dirk Müller, Jörg Müller and Dirk Werner will drive for Turner Motorsport's 2012 Rolex 24 at Daytona effort. The three BMW Motorsport drivers will join Bill Auberlen, Billy Johnson, Paul Dalla Lana, Michael Marsal and Boris Said in two Prep 2 GT class BMW M3s for Turner's third run for a Rolex watch in the twice-around-the-clock endurance classic.

"For the 50th Rolex 24 at Daytona I wanted to assemble the strongest BMW driver lineup I could," Turner said. "I think the 2012 Turner Motorsport roster stands on its own as one of the strongest ever. I want to thank BMW Motorsport for their support and assistance. Last year we ran strong in the opening hours of the race before gearbox problems set us back. This year we return with two M3s on the back of a very successful 2011 Grand-Am season that included two GT victories. With luck we will add the team's biggest victory to date."

The Turner driver roster represents many of BMW's greatest 24-hour race victories worldwide. Synonymous with BMW racing for many years in the United States, Auberlen and Said co-drove a BMW M3 to the GT class triumph at the Rolex 24 in both 1997 and 1998. Said became the first American to win the 24 Hours of Nurburgring with his BMW Motorsport drive in 2005. One year earlier, Dirk Müller, Jörg Müller and the legendary Hans J. Stuck won the Nurburgring 24. Jörg Müller was also part of the driving team that won the race in 2010. His first 24 hour win for BMW came at the Spa 24 in 1996. Dirk Werner has three 24 hour race victories in a BMW Z4 ; the Silverstone 24 in 2006 and 2007 in a Z4 M Coupe and the Dubai 24 in 2011 in a Z4 GT3.

Dirk Müller and Dirk Werner are also no strangers to GRAND-AM competition. Werner won the GT driver's title for Porsche in both 2007 and 2009. Müller has twice finished second in the Rolex 24 in 1998 and 1999, also driving for Porsche. Jörg Müller has one previous start in the Rolex 24.

Billy Johnson began his professional racing career as one of the first group of Formula BMW USA junior scholarship drivers in 2004. Johnson co-drove with Paul Dalla Lana in three GT races for Turner Motorsport last year with a best finish of fourth at Montreal.

Paul Dalla Lana won the 2011 Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge Grand Sport driver's championship with Turner Motorsport. He also bested 235 BMW drivers to win the 2011 BMW Sports Trophy for the most successful privateer BMW driver in the world.

Michael Marsal ran his second full CTSCC season with Turner last year and made two starts in the GT car. He finished second in GS points in 2010 with co-driver Joey Hand.

The 50th Rolex 24 at Daytona will take the green flag at 3:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 28.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review