Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Monte Carlo Rally WRC return gets 89 entries
The Automobile Club de Monaco has released an 89-strong entry list for next month's Rallye Monte-Carlo, the opening round of the World Rally Championship.

The list boasts 15 World Rally Car entries, including Mikko Hirvonen in a Citroen Total World Rally Team DS3 WRC for the first time and Petter Solberg's Ford World Rally Team return with Britain's Chris Patterson alongside. The list also confirms that Kris Meeke has been dropped by Mini, with pay-driver Pierre Campana taking his No. 52 entry in the Jan. 18-22 event.

Beyond the factory entries from Citroen, Ford and Mini, there are private Fiesta RS WRCs for Matthew Wilson, Henning Solberg, Martin Prokop, Francois Delecour, Evgeny Novikov and Ott Tanak. Peter van Merksteijn and Thierry Neuville drive DS3 WRCs, while Paulo Nobre is expected to be announced in a third Mini John Cooper Works WRC.

Beyond the WRCs, Volkswagen fields a pair of Skoda Fabia S2000s for Sebastien Ogier and Kevin Abbring, while Proton marks the beginning of its maiden Super 2000 WRC season with Satria Neos for P-G Andersson and Giandomenico Basso. The two factory Proton drivers will face last year's Monte winner Bryan Bouffier, who again drives a Peugeot 207 S2000 on the French Alpine classic. Racer.com

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review