Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
The Cartoon Network teams with NASCAR for a very special evening
The "Dance Machine?" The "Gnarliest Newb?" That could easily become the new nicknames for NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers Carl Edwards and Trevor Bayne if everything goes according to plan next Monday night on "The Cartoon Network." The pair of drivers are nominees for the television network's second annual "Hall Of Game Awards."

The "Hall Of Game Awards" has been described as a high energy, off the wall, multi-platform experience that allows the network's viewers to vote for, and honor, their favorite sports stars, and sports moments, of the year. The show, hosted by NBA basketball legend Shaquille O'Neal, will air on Monday, February 20th, at 7 pm eastern time.

Carl Edwards' "Dance Machine" nomination is based on his famous ability to perform a back flip from the driver's window of his car after winning a race. Edwards knows the drill of this awards show very well. He won the "In It To Win It" award last year.

Trevor Bayne's first "Hall Of Game" nomination is based on his surprise win at last year's Daytona 500. The award name, "Gnarliest Newb," is essentially the rookie of the year category for this year's awards show.

NASCAR's stars were also well represented in the 2011 inaugural awards show. In addition to Edwards' win last year, Danica Patrick was the recipient of the "She's Got Game" award. Kurt and Kyle Busch were nominees in last year's "Super Siblings" category. NASCAR newcomer Travis Pastrana was a 2011 nominee for the appropriately titled "Alti-Tude" award.

Five time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson will be making a special cameo appearance, on this year's awards show, to present the "World's Fastest" award. Johnson, by the way, was a 2011 nominee in the "Dance Machine" category. Seriously? Jimmie the Dance Machine?

But the driver who probably deserves the "Dance Machine" award should be Johnson's team mate: four time Sprint Cup champion Jeff Gordon. If you saw his break dancing exhibition, during last December's fan fest in Las Vegas, then you've got to believe that Gordon is going to sweep this category in 2013.

NASCAR racing fans can help Carl Edwards and Trevor Bayne win their category by voting for them online at www.hallofgame.com. The voting is open between now and Friday, February 17th.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review