Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Martin Truex Jr. on pole for Budweiser Shootout
Truex draws for pole
Getty Images for NASCAR
Martin Truex Jr. will start from the pole Saturday night in the Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway. The 75-lap exhibition race will feature segments of 25 and 50 laps. Both green-flag laps and yellow-flag laps will count. There will be a 10-minute break between segments during which time teams may change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis adjustments.

Eligible for the race were drivers who finished in the top 25 in the 2011 standings and any race winner of a Cup points race at Daytona or the Budweiser Shootout.

All of the top 25 except for Mark Martin and Brian Vickers will race. Past Daytona 500 winners Jamie McMurray and Michael Waltrip are in the field.

Here is the starting lineup for the race:

1. Martin Truex Jr., Michael Waltrip Racing No. 56 Toyota
2. Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 18 Toyota
3. Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing No. 2 Dodge
4. Jamie McMurray, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing No. 1 Chevrolet
5. David Ragan, Front Row Motorsports No. 34 Ford
6. Kurt Busch, Phoenix Racing No. 51 Chevrolet
7. Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing No. 16 Ford
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hendrick Motorsports No. 88 Chevrolet
9. AJ Allmendinger, Penske Racing No. 22 Dodge
10. Joey Logano, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota
11. Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway Racing No. 99 Ford
12. Jeff Burton, Richard Childress Racing No. 31 Chevrolet
13. Ryan Newman, Stewart-Haas Racing No. 39 Chevrolet
14. Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports No. 24 Chevrolet
15. Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing No. 14 Chevrolet
16. Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 11 Toyota
17. Clint Bowyer, Michael Waltrip Racing No. 15 Toyota
18. Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 Chevrolet
19. Kasey Kahne, Hendrick Motorsports No. 5 Chevrolet
20. Michael Waltrip, Michael Waltrip Racing No. 55 Toyota
21. Marcos Ambrose, Richard Petty Motorsports No. 9 Ford
22. Kevin Harvick, Richard Childress Racing No. 29 Chevrolet
23. Matt Kenseth, Roush Fenway Racing No. 17 Ford
24. Paul Menard, Richard Childress Racing No. 27 Chevrolet
25. Juan Pablo Montoya, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing No. 42 Chevrolet

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review