Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Fans Decide Fast Four in All-Time Greatest Chip Ganassi Racing Driver Bracket
Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (CGRT) announced today the Fast Four of their All-Time Greatest Chip Ganassi Racing Driver bracket after 12 days of fan voting and two rounds of competition.  Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya and Alex Zanardi all progressed to the round of four after fans voted them past the first two rounds of competition on the team’s social media platforms - Twitter and Facebook.

The team launched their first-ever All-Time Greatest Chip Ganassi Racing Driver bracket during the month of May, highlighting one of the biggest weekends in motorsports as they gear-up for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coca-Cola 600 and the IZOD IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 27.  The promotion aimed to engage fans by encouraging them to vote for their All-Time Greatest Chip Ganassi Racing Driver.

Chip Ganassi Racing Teams has over 23 years of history in motorsports, amassing 14 championships and 145 victories while currently racing in three different series with an all-time team roster of over 50 drivers.  To kick-off the campaign, the driver bracket was announced through the team’s Facebook and Twitter accounts to reveal a line-up of just 16 finalists for the first round of match-ups.  Fans placed their votes and helped their favorite drivers advance to the round of eight, which brought the second round of the competition.

The All-Time Greatest Chip Ganassi Racing Driver Semi-finals and Championship Round will start today and run through Friday, May 25 with the overall winner announced on Saturday, May 26, the day before the Coca-Cola 600 and Indianapolis 500.


Scott Dixon:  The two-time IZOD IndyCar Series Champion and 2008 Indianapolis 500 Winner is in his 11th year with Target Chip Ganassi Racing – the longest tenure for a driver in team history.  He is currently ranked second on the CGRT all-time win list with 28 victories including one trip to victory lane in the Rolex 24 At Daytona in 2006.

Dario Franchitti:  Four-time and reigning IZOD IndyCar Series Champion and two-time Indianapolis 500 Winner Dario Franchitti is in his fourth season with Target Chip Ganassi Racing (TCGR).  Since joining TCGR in 2009, Franchitti has delivered three consecutive IZOD IndyCar Series titles, including 12 wins and the 2010 Indianapolis 500. Franchitti is currently sixth on the CGRT all-time win list with 13 victories, which includes his trip to the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series Victory Lane for the 2008 Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Juan Pablo Montoya:  Juan Pablo Montoya is in his fifth full season with Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS).  Since his debut in the NSCS, Montoya has two wins, seven pole positions, 20 top-fives and 50 top-10s in 192 starts.  He was the series’ Rookie of the Year in 2007 and became the only foreign-born driver to win multiple races in the elite series after his 2010 victory at Watkins Glen.  Prior to joining the NASCAR ranks, the Colombian native won a CART Championship for CGRT in 1999 and the Indianapolis 500 in 2000.  He is a two-time Rolex At Daytona Winner.  Montoya is ranked fourth on the team’s all-time win list with16 wins.

Alex Zanardi:  The two-time CART Champion and 1996 CART Rookie of the Year is ranked fifth on the all-time CGRT win list with 15 victories. The Italian driver also accumulated 51 starts, 28 podiums and 10 poles for the team. Zanardi Is also universally credited as being the first driver to do “donuts” in car to celebrate a victory.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review