Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Lotus GP’s Aaro Vainio fastest in Free Practice in Spain
Aaro Vainio
GP3 Series leader Aaro Vainio set the pace in the forty-five minute practice session at the Valencia Street Circuit for Round 3 of the 2012 Series.

The session got underway with a track temperature of 23 degrees in very muggy and windy conditions as the MW Arden trio were first to take to the track. The circuit was very dusty to begin with as the drivers set their installation laps and cleared away the material as the times began to quicken.

Mitch Evans led the way for the start of the session, ahead of Ocean Racing Technology’s Kevin Ceccon and Matias Laine. The Carlin duo of William Buller and Antonio Felix Da Costa soon shot up to P2 and P3 after 15 minutes of practice had run until Tio Ellinas (Marussia Manor Racing) snuck into second.

Felix Da Costa then moved to the top of the timesheets with Marlon Stockinger (Status Grand Prix) jumping up to P2. At the midway point, Evans then reclaimed his position back at the head of the timings until Vainio set the quickest time of the session in a hard fought practice as the drivers were getting to grips with the challenge of the tight and twisty street circuit.

Cypriot driver Ellinas rose up to P1 with ten minutes remaining on the clock, but Finnish driver Vainio had other ideas and produced the best lap time in practice of 2:00.094 with five minutes left. His Lotus GP teammate Conor Daly was also on a charge and went P2 ahead of Ellinas, Evans, Felix Da Costa, Ceccon and Stockinger. David Fumanelli was 8th with Alice Powell putting in her best lap on her final attempt to shoot up to P9 ahead of Buller.


Pos Driver Team Lap time Laps
1. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 2.00.094 14
2. Conor Daly Lotus GP 2.00.343 13
3. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 2.00.482 17
4. Mitch Evans MW Arden 2.00.546 19
5. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 2.00.737 19
6. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 2.00.764 18
7. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 2.00.950 14
8. David Fumanelli MW Arden 2.00.979 19
9. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 2.01.055 16
10. William Buller Carlin 2.01.124 18
11. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 2.01.136 19
12. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 2.01.192 7
13. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 2.01.570 14
14. Alex Brundle Carlin 2.01.708 20
15. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 2.01.916 19
16. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 2.02.098 20
17. Matias Laine MW Arden 2.02.172 18
18. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 2.02.231 18
19. John Wartique Atech CRS GP 2.02.500 19
20. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 2.02.529 19
21. Antonio Spavone Trident Racing 2.02.922 19
22. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 2.02.929 18
23. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 2.03.456 17
24. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 2.04.036 19
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review