Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Felix Da Costa leads the way in rainy Silverstone
Round 4 of the GP3 Series opened with a rain soaked Silverstone for Free Practice and it was Antonio Felix Da Costa who set the early pace to finish P1 with a laptime of 2:11.463. The heavens opened up over the circuit as the drivers took to the track for their installation laps and it was MW Arden’s David Fumanelli who was first out. As the rain poured down throughout the session it gave the drivers their first opportunity to run with the Pirelli wet tyres and test their limits ahead of qualifying tomorrow morning.

With the treacherous conditions, visibility was very poor for the 27 drivers with the vast amount of spray, thus creating a lively session with many drivers finding themselves spinning and some having a premature end to their free practice.

Atech CRS GP driver Tamas Pal Kiss topped the timesheets largely for the most part with Felix Da Costa, Alex Brundle (Carlin) and Mitch Evans (MW Arden) in pursuit. There were several drivers who ended up beeched in the gravel including Alice Powell, David Fumanelli and Robert Visoiu who had to return to the pits on foot.

Felix Da Costa grabbed P1 from the Hungarian until Evans took over at the top of the standings. Pal Kiss then shot to the head of the timings with Jenzer Motorsport’s Patric Niederhauser rising to second in the final moments. With ten seconds remaining on the clock, it was Felix Da Costa who went quickest by 0.373s, with Pal Kiss second, ahead of Evans, Niederhauser, Aaro Vainio (Lotus GP) and Conor Daly (Lotus GP). Kevin Ceccon saved his best efforts until the checkered flag was due to drop as he jumped up to P7, in front of Marlon Stockinger (Status Grand Prix), Tio Ellinas (Marussia Manor Racing) and Brundle.

Qualifying takes place Saturday at 08.30 am. Local time.


Driver Team Time Laps
1. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 2:11.463 16
2. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 2:11.836 18
3. Mitch Evans MW Arden 2:12.308 18
4. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 2:12.984 17
5. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 2:13.433 12
6. Conor Daly Lotus GP 2:13.468 16
7. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 2:13.667 16
8. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 2:13.969 17
9. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 2:14.583 17
10. Alex Brundle Carlin 2:14.595 16
11. Matias Laine MW Arden 2:15.418 17
12. William Buller Carlin 2:15.550 10
13. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 2:15.601 9
14. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 2:16.229 15
15. David Fumanelli MW Arden 2:16.285 8
16. Antonio Spavone Trident Racing 2:17.078 16
17. Facu Regalia Jenzer Motorsport 2:17.848 17
18. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 2:18.177 16
19. Kotaro Sakurai Status Grand Prix 2:18.369 18
20. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 2:18.822 16
21. Fabio Gamberini Atech CRS GP 2:19.651 8
22. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 2:21.265 10
23. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 2:21.415 7
24. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 2:21.834 4
25. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 2:22.854 13
26. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 2:26.610 9
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review