Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Evans snatches pole in Silverstone
Mitch Evans
In the first dry running of the weekend at the Northamptonshire circuit, Mitch Evans claimed his second pole of the season at Silverstone ahead of this afternoon’s race with a laptime of: 1:51.892 which was 0.324s faster than Lotus GP’s Aaro Vainio.

After the torrential downpour for Friday’s Free Practice, GP3 were greeted to cool but dry conditions for qualifying as the 27 drivers made their way onto the circuit to set their installation laps. There was a large puddle which did catch a number of drivers out as they battled to keep control of their cars from sliding off.

Conor Daly was first to set the pace, until Carlin’s Antonio Felix Da Costa grabbed P1. Daly who faces a ten place grid penalty after an incident in Valencia was keen to set a flyer in qualifying and jumped to the top of timesheets, over half a second quicker than the Portuguese star. Vainio went P2 until Brit’ William Buller split the Lotus GP pairing.

Vainio, Evans, Felix Da Costa: Qualifying Top 3 Silverstone 2012
Felix Da Costa was hot on the pace and regained his place at the head of the timings until Vainio stole it back. It was a great tussle for pole and the Finn remained on provisional pole until 18 seconds before the session ended when New Zealander Evans produced a flier to secure pole for Race 1 and claim four vital points for the championship. The MW Arden ace had been quietly moving his way up the timings throughout the session after a fierce battle at the top.

Therefore, Evans heads the front row, with his main rival for the GP3 crown starting alongside him. Felix Da Costa finished P3, ahead of Matias Laine, Daly, Daniel Abt, Kevin Ceccon, Buller, Kotaro Sakurai and David Fumanelli.

Race 1 starts at 16.20 local time.


Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:51.892 13
2. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 1:52.216 13
3. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 1:52.233 13
4. Matias Laine MW Arden 1:52.332 14
5. Conor Daly* Lotus GP 1:52.519 12
6. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:52.543 13
7. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 1:52.572 13
8. William Buller Carlin 1.52.648 13
9. Kotaro Sakurai Status Grand Prix 1:52.807 14
10. David Fumanelli MW Arden 1:52.921 12
11. Tamas Pal Kiss* Atech CRS GP 1:52.930 12
12. Alex Brundle Carlin 1:53.133 13
13. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:53.536 9
14. Facu Regalia Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.549 13
15. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 1:53.624 13
16. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 1:53.769 14
17. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 1:53.852 13
18. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.861 14
19. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.893 12
20. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 1:54.324 14
21. Antonio Spavone Trident Racing 1:54.339 13
22. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 1:54.427 13
23. Fabio Gamberini Atech CRS GP 1:55.175 12
24. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 1:55.363 12
25. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:55.711 7
26. Ethan Ringel* Atech CRS GP 1:59.371 10
27. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 1:59.989 12

*10 place grid penalty which will be applied for Race 1.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review