Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Buller storms to first win in chaotic Silverstone race
William Buller - winner (Carlin) Daly (Lotus GP) Niederhauser (Jenzer)
Carlin’s William Buller claimed his maiden victory in GP3 today in a race that was full of drama and excitement until the very end! It concluded a fantastic weekend for Carlin after achieving their first win in the Series on Saturday with Antonio Felix Da Costa and then sealing a double victory at home in front of a massive crowd.

With light rain starting to fall as the drivers were on the grid preparing, strategic calls came into play and it was Carlin and Buller who made the brave decision to start on slick tires as the rain fell. Pole man Kevin Ceccon made a good start but it was Marussia Manor Racing’s Tio Ellinas who got the jump on front row man Alex Brundle (the latter starting on slicks). Also on the move was Series leader Mitch Evans who surged through from seventh to third. The battle was on as Felix Da Costa and the New Zealander fought over third place with the Portuguese star on a mission and finding a way through.

Ellinas was not content with second and soon set after race leader Ceccon and made his way to P1 by the end of the first lap. By lap 3, Ellinas had pulled a 3.2 second margin as the drivers got to grips with tricky and changeable conditions. The majority of the field started on wets and for some their tires soon started to fade away as the rain that was expected to come down, didn’t.

Felix Da Costa moved up to P2 passing Ceccon, whilst Evans began to struggle with his tires and was overtaken by Daniel Abt (Lotus GP) and soon had to defend from teammate Matias Laine. With the track drying it soon became evident that the quicker tire to be on were the slicks, as demonstrated by Buller who began setting purple sectors and fastest laps. Jenzer Motorsport’s Patric Niederhauser and Robert Visoiu began their charge through the pack on the wet tire and began to take advantage.

Ellinas remained in front ahead of Felix Da Costa, Niederhauser, Ceccon and Visoiu. Mitch Evans spun at turn 7 and at the midway point of the race came in for tire change. Buller was climbing his way up to P6 at this point with Conor Daly (Lotus GP) also on the up. There was a new race leader after Niederhauser overtook both Felix Da Costa and Ellinas and looked in a dominant position in P1. Ellinas also pitted for slicks from P2 whilst Buller continued to set an impressive pace on slicks moving to P2. The Brit was all over the back of the Swiss for the lead and he grabbed P1 and pulled out a large gap.

The track conditions started to catch the drivers out with Alice Powell ending her race in gravel, soon to be followed by Abt. Before Abt could climb out of his car Marlon Stockinger (Status Grand Prix) joined him for a company, tapping the Lotus GP car after spinning off in the same place. There was drama still to come with one of the main contenders for the GP3 crown, Aaro Vainio (Lotus GP) hitting the back of Laine and sending his car up into the air. That was a premature end to the Finn’s race and no points.

Buller continued to increase his advantage over the front whilst Daly (who started on slicks) rose to P2 passing Niederhauser. The Brit crossed the checkered flag with an eight second lead to celebrate his maiden victory, with Daly enjoying a solid points score. Niederhauser hung onto the final spot on the rostrum after nursing his wet tires home to finish ahead of Ellinas, Visoiu, Felix Da Costa and Ceccon. The final point went to Atech CRS GP new driver Fabio Gamberini making his debut here at Silverstone.

With the top two in the Drivers Standings failing to score points, Evans continues to hold his 11 point advantage over Vainio with Felix Da Costa closing the gap in third.

GP3 Series is back in action at Hockenheim in Germany on 20-22 July.

Silverstone – Race 2

Pos Driver Team
1. William Buller Carlin
2. Conor Daly Lotus GP
3. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport
4. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing
5. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport
6. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin
7. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology
8. Fabio Gamberini Atech CRS GP
9. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing
10. Alex Brundle Carlin
11. Mitch Evans MW Arden
12. Facu Regalia Jenzer Motorsport
13. Kotaro Sakurai Status Grand Prix
14. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP
15. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology
16. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing
17. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP
18. Matias Laine MW Arden
19. Antonio Spavone Trident Racing
20. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing
21. Vicky Piria Trident Racing
DNF Daniel Abt Lotus GP
DNF Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix
DNF Aaro Vainio Lotus GP
DNF Alice Powell Status Grand Prix
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review