Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Abt flies to first pole on home ground in Hockenheim
(L to R) Evans, Abt, and Daly
Qualifying for Round 5 of the GP3 Series in Hockenheim was a closely fought contest but it was home favorite, Daniel Abt who came out on top and achieved his first pole of his rookie season!

After rain had fallen on Friday, conditions for qualifying were dry and warm with dark clouds hovering over the circuit threatening to spoil the party. Germany’s Abt was first onto track as the field set their installation laps. After ten minutes, it was Series leader Mitch Evans heading the timings over Antonio Felix Da Costa and Giovanni Venturini.

Marussia Manor Racing’s Tio Ellinas went P1 at the midway point with Abt up to P2 until his Lotus GP teammate Conor Daly put in a flier to go top. There was a spectacular moment for Dmitry Suranovich who after running wide, was sent briefly airborne but the Russian was able to continue on with his qualifying lap unscathed.

Daly further improved on his lap time to enhance his advantage at the front but Evans soon put a stop to that with three minutes remaining to claim provisional pole. With all the local support behind him, Abt was a man on a mission to please his fan base and produced a lap time of 1:31.961, to secure pole position in his homeland and become the only driver to break into the 1.31s barrier.

Evans will join Abt on the front row with Daly and Ellinas on row two. Aaro Vainio qualified fifth but will line up in 15th place after a ten place grid penalty from Silverstone. Felix Da Costa was P6, ahead of David Fumanelli and Patric Niederhauser. Marlon Stockinger qualified P9 but like Vainio has a ten place grid penalty. Kevin Ceccon completes the top ten.

Race 1 takes place later today at 17.20pm.


Pos Driver Team Lap Time Laps
1. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:31.961 16
2. Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:32.191 14
3. Conor Daly Lotus GP 1:32.267 15
4. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:32.381 16
5. Aaro Vainio* Lotus GP 1:32.551 14
6. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 1:32.564 13
7. David Fumanelli MW Arden 1:32.658 14
8. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.689 12
9. Marlon Stockinger* Status Grand Prix 1:32.773 14
10. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 1:33.010 14
11. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 1:33.079 12
12. Matias Laine MW Arden 1:33.079 15
13. Alex Brundle Carlin 1:33.089 13
14. William Buller Carlin 1:33.115 12
15. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.133 13
16. Lewis Williamson Status Grand Prix 1:33.263 13
17. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 1:33.347 13
18. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 1:33.583 15
19. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.861 16
20. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 1:34.035 14
21. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 1:34.258 15
22. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 1:34.270 16
23. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 1:34.756 14
24. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 1:36.073 14

*Grid penalty of 10 places
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review