Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Sprint Cup qualifying rained out at Bristol, Casey Mears on pole
Sprint Cup qualifying was rained out Friday at Bristol Motor Speedway, putting Casey Mears on the pole and shaking up the field for Saturday night’s Irwin Tools Night Race.

It began raining shortly before the scheduled start of qualifying and NASCAR officials did not have enough time to dry the track and run time trials before the scheduled start of Friday night’s Nationwide Series race. The starting lineup was determined by speeds in the first practice session Friday.

Mears, who has one career victory but is 27th in points this season, led the practice session and will start on the front row beside Brad Keselowski, who was second in practice and who has won the last two races at Bristol.

Points leader Greg Biffle will start third followed by Joey Logano, Aric Almirola, Jeff Burton, Paul Menard, Denny Hamlin, Marcos Ambrose and Kyle Busch.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start 16th.

Five-time champion Jimmie Johnson will start 37th while Danica Patrick, who is making her fourth career Cup start, will start 43rd. Both struggled in practice Friday.

Logano and Keselowski led the second practice session.

Failing to qualify for the race were Kelly Bires, J.J. Yeley, Reed Sorenson and Scott Speed.

Results (Car number in parentheses)

1. (13) Casey Mears, Ford, Owner Points.

2. (2) Brad Keselowski, Dodge, Owner Points.

3. (16) Greg Biffle, Ford, Owner Points.

4. (20) Joey Logano, Toyota, Owner Points.

5. (43) Aric Almirola, Ford, Owner Points.

6. (31) Jeff Burton, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

7. (27) Paul Menard, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

8. (11) Denny Hamlin, Toyota, Owner Points.

9. (9) Marcos Ambrose, Ford, Owner Points.

10. (18) Kyle Busch, Toyota, Owner Points.

11. (24) Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

12. (5) Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

13. (29) Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

14. (78) Regan Smith, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

15. (56) Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, Owner Points.

16. (88) Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, Owner Points.

17. (17) Matt Kenseth, Ford, Owner Points.

18. (38) David Gilliland, Ford, Owner Points.

19. (39) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

20. (51) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

21. (14) Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

22. (55) Brian Vickers, Toyota, Owner Points.

23. (15) Clint Bowyer, Toyota, Owner Points.

24. (34) David Ragan, Ford, Owner Points.

25. (36) Dave Blaney, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

26. (1) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

27. (99) Carl Edwards, Ford, Owner Points.

28. (42) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

29. (22) Sam Hornish Jr., Dodge, Owner Points.

30. (98) Michael McDowell, Ford, Attempts.

31. (30) David Stremme, Toyota, Attempts.

32. (26) Josh Wise, Ford, Attempts.

33. (83) Landon Cassill, Toyota, Owner Points.

34. (19) Mike Bliss, Toyota, Attempts.

35. (23) Scott Riggs, Chevrolet, Attempts.

36. (47) Bobby Labonte, Toyota, Owner Points.

37. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

38. (33) Stephen Leicht, Chevrolet, Attempts.

39. (49) Jason Leffler, Toyota, Attempts.

40. (87) Joe Nemechek, Toyota, Attempts.

41. (93) Travis Kvapil, Toyota, Owner Points.

42. (32) Ken Schrader, Ford, Owner Points.

43. (10) Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, Owner Points.

Failed to Qualify

44. (95) Scott Speed, Ford.

45. (79) Kelly Bires, Ford.

46. (91) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet.

47. (37) J.J. Yeley, Chevrolet.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review