Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Evans and Laine lock out front row in Spa
Mitch Evans
Series leader Mitch Evans made the best possible start to his weekend by claiming the vital four points on offer for pole position for Round 7 of the GP3 Series 2012. His teammate Laine will start alongside the New Zealander on the front row, with Lotus GP's Daniel Abt in third. Evans pole laptime of 2:10.513 was a new pole record for the circuit.

After the miserable conditions for Friday Free Practice, sunshine returned to the Spa-Francorchamps circuit, for a very fresh qualifying session with temperatures only reaching 11 degrees. Robert Cregan, Laine and David Fumanelli were first onto the circuit as the 26 drivers were eager to drive the legendary circuit in the dry.

After ten minutes it was Abt controlling the 30 minute qualifying session, ahead of Evans and Fumanelli. Positions had been changing at the top frequently with Aaro Vainio and Antonio Felix Da Costa battling it out with Abt for P1. Lewis Williamson was a man on the move, jumping up to third position with 12 minutes remaining as the drivers came into the pits to change their Pirelli tires, ready for the fight for pole.

Evans, Laine, and Abt
Abt improved on his best laptime by 0.140s over Evans to further enhance his lead at the top of the standings as the time ticked down on the clock. However with two minutes to go, Evans set a flier to grab P1, with Conor Daly and Felix Da Costa recording times in the top four. Finn Laine hadn't finished yet and set his best time to join his teammate on the front row to achieve his best qualifying position of the season with second. Abt caught traffic on his final attempt but his best efforts were enough to move him back into P3.

The final ten was Evans, Laine, Abt, Felix Da Costa, Daly, Williamson, Vainio, Giovanni Venturini, Alex Fontana and Tio Ellinas.

Race 1 takes place at 17.20 CET later today.

Qualifying - Spa-Francorchamps


Driver Team Time Laps
1. Mitch Evans MW Arden 2:10.513 13
2. Matias Laine MW Arden 2:10.738 13
3. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 2:10.754 13
4. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 2:10.980 11
5. Conor Daly Lotus GP 2:11.064 12
6. Lewis Williamson Status Grand Prix 2:11.320 11
7. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 2:11.366 12
8. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 2:11.382 11
9. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 2:11.397 12
10. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 2:11.501 13
11. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 2:11.541 12
12. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 2:11.637 12
13. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 2:11.723 12
14. William Buller Carlin 2:11.742 11
15. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 2:11.746 12
16. David Fumanelli MW Arden 2:11.804 12
17. Alex Brundle Carlin 2:12.224 12
18. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 2:12.410 13
19. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 2:12.508 11
20. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 2:12.530 12
21. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 2:12.713 11
22. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 2:12.765 13
23. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 2:12.886 13
24. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 2:12.917 13
25. John Wartique Atech CRS GP 2:13.478 12
26. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 2:18.719 10

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review