Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Chilton powers to GP2 pole in Monza
Max Chilton maintained his Free Practice pace to clinch his second pole position of the season with a late surge in this afternoon's qualifying session in Monza, storming to the top spot ahead of Giedo van der Garde and Johnny Cecotto.

The Briton's best time of 1:31.886 was set with just six minutes remaining in the session, and although van der Garde was able to narrow the gap to just 0.067 seconds next time across the finish line, his rivals were unable to push Chilton off pole.

The entire field were straight out on track when the lights went green, with the hot and sunny conditions soon allowing their times to tumble. Cecotto (who loses five places on tomorrow’s starting grid following a penalty picked up last week in Spa), Fabio Leimer and Fabio Onidi all sat briefly on the top of the time sheets before van der Garde staked his claim for pole, settling the best time so far just seven minutes in, and holding on through the pitstops.

With time running out it looked like the Dutchman was going to hold on until Chilton stole the spot and, although van der Garde improved his time next time through, it wasn't enough to steal it back. And when the Briton later spun at Parabolica, with a minute remaining, the rest of the field had no chance to launch a last attack.

Behind the top three were Luca Filippi and Davide Valsecchi, who were both improving on their last lap until the yellow flags emerged, Marcus Ericsson, Leimer, Onidi, Esteban Gutiérrez and Felipe Nasr, while title rivals Luiz Razia and James Calado were back in P12 and 13 respectively. But with 19 drivers within a second of pole, the fight for tomorrow's feature race will be as hot as the scorching weather.

Monza – Qualifying Session

Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Max Chilton Carlin 1:31.886 13
2. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing 1:31.953 13
3. Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team 1:32.151 6
4. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 1:32.165 9
5. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 1:32.208 13
6. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:32.216 13
7. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:32.324 13
8. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni 1:32.388 13
9. Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus GP 1:32.396 11
10. Felipe Nasr DAMS 1:32.462 8
11. Rio Haryanto Carlin 1:32.471 14
12. Luiz Razia Arden International 1:32.495 13
13. James Calado Lotus GP 1:32.622 13
14. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology 1:32.625 13
15. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 1:32.659 13
16. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:32.675 13
17. Nathanaël Berthon Racing Engineering 1:32.769 13
18. Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.772 13
19 Simon Trummer Arden International 1:32.889 15
20. Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology 1:32.911 14
21. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.967 14
22. Stéphane Richelmi Trident Racing 1:32.969 13
23. Julian Leal Trident Racing 1:32.989 15
24. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:33.109 12
25. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing 1:33.511 14
26. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax 1:33.719 17
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review