Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
More engine change penalties for IndyCar teams at Fontana
INDYCAR provided an update today regarding the status of fresh engines remaining for each team for the MAVTV 500, the final event of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

Officials also announced 10 grid spot penalties for the following cars for this weekend's event at Auto Club Speedway: #3 Castroneves (Fitting sixth engine), #12 Power (Fitting sixth engine), #28 Hunter-Reay (Fitting sixth engine), #9 Dixon (Unapproved engine change), #14 Cunningham (Unapproved engine change), #15 Sato (Unapproved engine change), #18 Wilson (Unapproved engine change), #38 Rahal (Unapproved engine change), #67 Newgarden (Unapproved engine change), #78 De Silvestro (Unapproved engine change), #83 Kimball (Unapproved engine change), #77 Pagenaud (Unapproved engine change/Fitting sixth engine), #98 Tagliani (Unapproved engine change/Fitting sixth engine), #27 Hinchcliffe (Unapproved engine change/Fitting sixth engine).

No. 2 Team Penske Ryan Briscoe On Engine 5
No. 3 Team Penske Helio Castroneves Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 4 Panther Racing JR Hildebrand On Engine 5
No. 5 KV Racing Technology E.J. Viso On Engine 5
No. 6 Dragon Racing Katherine Legge On Engine 5
No. 8 KV Racing Technology Rubens Barrichello On Engine 5
No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Scott Dixon Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dario Franchitti On Engine 5
No. 11 KV Racing Technology w/SH Tony Kanaan On Engine 5
No. 12 Team Penske Will Power Will Fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Wade Cunningham Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Takuma Sato Will fit Engine 9 at ACS
No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing Justin Wilson Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 19 Dale Coyne Racing James Jakes On Engine 5
No. 20 Ed Carpenter Racing Ed Carpenter On Engine 5
No. 22 Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Oriol Servia On Engine 5
No. 26 Andretti Autosport Marco Andretti On Engine 5
No. 27 Andretti Autosport James Hinchcliffe Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 28 Andretti Autosport Ryan Hunter-Reay Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Graham Rahal Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Josef Newgarden Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports Simon Pagenaud Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
No. 78 Lotus-HVM Racing Simona de Silvestro Will fit Engine 9 at ACS
No. 83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing Charlie Kimball Will fit Engine 8 at ACS
No. 98 Barracuda Racing Alex Tagliani Will fit Engine 6 at ACS

Pursuant to Rule 15.1.4, Each Full-Season Entrant will be provided with no more than five fresh built Engines throughout each year covered by an engine service agreement.  Using more than five fresh Engines in a season will result in a penalty.  Engines beyond the fifth fresh Engine may be fresh or part-used.

Pursuant to Rule 15.6.2, Using more than five fresh Engines in a season will be considered Unapproved Engine Change-Outs.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review