Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Indy car drivers voted into Road Racing Drivers Club
Current IZOD IndyCar Series drivers James Hinchcliffe, Will Power, Takuma Sato, Oriol Servia and Josef Newgarden are among the 30 race car drivers who have been voted into the Road Racing Drivers Club as regular members for 2012.

Also joining the list are Indianapolis 500 winners Eddie Cheever Jr. and Juan Pablo Montoya, Indy car drivers Adrian Fernandez, Max Papis, Michel Jourdain Jr., Brian Till and Michael Shank.

The group has won a collective 66 season championships and more than 700 races. Voting was held among all current RRDC members. Also, former Honda Performance Development president Robert Clarke was selected as an associate member.

"This is truly a stellar group of talented race car drivers and contributors to the sport," said RRDC president Bobby Rahal. "We are honored that each of them has enthusiastically accepted membership in the RRDC. We look forward to working with them as the RRDC continues to pursue its goals of lending its expertise to up-and-coming drivers through a variety of programs."

The Road Racing Drivers Club was formed in 1952 as a way to give champion drivers a say in their sport, particularly in the areas of safety, and has evolved to serve the future of road racing by mentoring new drivers on both amateur and professional levels.

The Club's membership includes leading industry professionals, race officials and motorsports journalists, in addition to prominent racing names.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review