Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Lorenzo crowned Champion as Stoner makes it six at Australian GP
Casey Stoner
Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo was crowned 2012 MotoGP World Champion after taking second place at the AirAsia Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island where local hero Casey Stoner made it six wins in succession and Cal Crutchlow took his second-ever podium.

It was Lorenzo that got the holeshot into turn one after a lightning start, with Repsol Honda Team’s Dani Pedrosa close on his tail in front of his teammate Stoner. Pedrosa was boisterous from the off and pushed past Lorenzo within a couple of turns as he tried to pull away. Local hero Stoner was soon all over Lorenzo and took him on the home straight heading into lap two.

Lorenzo celebrates his championship with a burnout
Shortly after there was huge drama as Pedrosa pushed too hard and lost the rear of his bike, with Stoner and Lorenzo closely behind. The Spaniard was able to remount, yet had to pit with the bike too damaged, leaving Lorenzo in a strong position to take the world title. As Stoner pulled away at the front in dominant fashion, an entertaining battle for third ensued being led by Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow, followed by teammate Andrea Dovizioso, San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Álvaro Bautista and LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl.

In the meantime, Paul Bird Motorsport’s James Ellison crashed out of the race, while NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Colin Edwards had to retire due to a technical issue. With 18 laps remaining Crutchlow was on a charge as he was lapping faster than Lorenzo, dropping off Dovizioso slightly, who had Bautista stuck to his rear wheel. Behind them, Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi was leading a battle of the Desmosedicis ahead of Cardion AB Racing’s Karel Abraham and Ducati’s Nicky Hayden.

With 16 laps left Bautista made his way past Dovizioso as he came under pressure from Bradl, who overtook the Italian a lap later. Bradl was a man on a mission as he then took Bautista on the home straight, with Dovizioso following suit a few corners later. Stoner was leading at the front with Lorenzo and lonely second and Crutchlow a lonely third, yet Bautista and Dovizioso were at each other's throats throughout. With eight laps to go Speed Master’s Roberto Rolfo retired with a mechanical issue.

Further afield and Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaro was tussling with teammate Randy de Puniet in their battle for CRT supremacy. With five laps remaining Dovizioso looked to have re-found his stride as he went past Bradl into fourth. A lap later Bautista capitalized on this and squeezed past the German for fifth. And two laps before the end the trio provided fairing-to-fairing action with Dovizioso leading into the last lap, and keeping this position until the line.

Stoner leads Lorenzo and Pedrosa at the start
Yet ultimately it was Stoner who made it six wins in succession at the Australian track on his final bow at his home circuit, with Lorenzo clinching his second premier-class title with one round to go. Crutchlow put in a terrific ride as he stormed to his second ever GP podium, despite suffering from illness. Dovizioso was the first non-podium finisher, followed by Bautista, Bradl, Rossi, Hayden, Abraham, as well as Espargaro, who came out on top in the CRT battle with his teammate.

The race was a huge draw for the Australian crowd as an estimated 53,100 fans descended on the track on Sunday, making the estimated three-day attendance a record breaking 122,470.


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Time/Gap
1 25 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 41'01.324
2 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha +9.223
3 16 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +14.570
4 13 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +23.303
5 11 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda +23.432
6 10 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +23.467
7 9 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati +37.113
8 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati +38.387
9 7 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati +52.613
10 6 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART +1'00.299
11 5 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART +1'00.342
12 4 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati +1'21.951
13 3 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter +1'27.857
14 2 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 1 Lap
15 1 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 1 Lap
DNF 0 84 Roberto ROLFO ITA Speed Master ART 9 Laps
DNF 0 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 21 Laps
DNF 0 77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 22 Laps
DNF 0 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 26 Laps

Championship standings

Pos Rider Points Nat Bike Team
1 Jorge Lorenzo 350 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
2 Dani Pedrosa 307 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Casey Stoner 238 pts AUS HONDA Repsol Honda Team
4 Andrea Dovizioso 208 pts ITA YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
5 Alvaro Bautista 165 pts SPA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
6 Valentino Rossi 157 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
7 Cal Crutchlow 151 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
8 Stefan Bradl 135 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
9 Nicky Hayden 122 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
10 Ben Spies 88 pts USA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
11 Hector Barbera 83 pts SPA DUCATI Pramac Racing
12 Aleix Espargaro 69 pts ESP ART Aspar Team MotoGP
13 Randy De Puniet 58 pts FRA ART Aspar Team MotoGP
14 Karel Abraham 50 pts CZE DUCATI Cardion AB Motoracing
15 Michele Pirro 32 pts ITA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
16 James Ellison 28 pts GBR ART Paul Bird Racing
17 Yonny Hernandez 28 pts COL BQR-FTR BQR
18 Colin Edwards 25 pts USA SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing
19 Danilo Petrucci 19 pts ITA IODA Ioda Racing Project
20 Jonathan Rea 17 pts GBR HONDA Repsol Honda Team
21 Mattia Pasini 13 pts ITA ART Speed Master
22 Ivan Silva 12 pts SPA BQR-FTR BQR
23 Toni Elías 10 pts SPA DUCATI Pramac Racing
24 Katsuyuki Nakasuga 7 pts JAP YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
25 Steve Rapp 2 pts USA N/A Attack Performance
26 David Salom 1 pts SPA BQR-FTR BQR
27 Roberto Rolfo 0 pts ITA ART Speed Master
28 Franco Battaini 0 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
29 Chris Vermeulen 0 pts AUS SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing
30 Aaron Yates 0 pts USA N/A GP Tech

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review