Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Macau GP: Antonio Felix da Costa wins race for Carlin
Rosenqvist (R) gets the jump on da Costa (C) into the first corner at the start
Antonio Felix da Costa has added his name to the illustrious list of Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix winners, thanks to a stunning drive at the tricky Guia street circuit today.

The Portuguese young gun, fresh from testing for crack Formula 1 team Red Bull Racing in Abu Dhabi, started the 15-lap Grand Prix from pole position. However, just like yesterday’s Qualification Race he found himself trailing Felix Rosenqvist on the run down to Lisboa on the first lap.

da Costa celebrates
But a perfectly executed move into the right-hander saw the Carlin-Dallara straight back into the lead, and once there da Costa was able to control the race, a burst of speed following a mid-race restart setting him up for a historic win.

“Every lap we were on the limit,” said the winner. “I have to thank my team. They put this amazing package together. There are so many good names on the [winner’s] list, and my name is there too now. It was tight between all of us, but always fair, and I think we put on a really good show out there.”

Rosenqvist finished second, after taking the fight to da Costa right across the weekend. The pair were barely separated by more than a second throughout the race, with the final margin just 1.5s.

Alex Lynn continued to be the best rookie in Macau, shadowing the leaders throughout the race to take a debut podium. But he wasn’t the only rookie to impress; young German Pascal Wehrlein drove a sensible race to cap off his first visit to Macau with a credible fourth place, holding off the more experienced Felipe Nasr, who returned to Formula 3 from GP2 just for this event.

The hard luck story of the race was 2011 Macau Grand Prix winner Daniel Juncadella, who lost any chance of becoming just the second driver to win the event back-to-back when he was forced out of the race with a suspension failure on the fourth lap.


1 7 Antonio DA COSTA POR Carlin 15 0.000s 2:13.507
2 22 Felix ROSENQVIST SWE Mucke Motorsport 15 1.573s 2:13.694
3 14 Alex LYNN GBR Fortec Motorsport 15 2.486s 2:13.692
4 23 Pascal WEHRLEIN GER Mucke Motorsport 15 3.471s 2:13.721
5 5 Felipe NASR BRA Carlin 15 9.127s 2:14.099
6 16 Pipo DERANI BRA Fortec Motorsport 15 11.043s 2:14.340
7 8 Carlos SAINZ Jnr ESP Carlin 15 11.417s 2:13.837
8 2 Raffaele MARCIELLO ITA Prema Powerteam 15 14.376s 2:14.287
9 15 Harry TINCKNELL GBR Fortec Motorsport 15 16.944s 2:14.201
10 9 Will BULLER GBR Carlin 15 21.650s 2:14.926
11 20 Jimmy ERIKSSON SWE Galaxy Double R Racing 15 22.955s 2:15.136
12 6 Daniel ABT GER Carlin 15 24.025s 2:14.831
13 19 Kevin KORJUS EST Galaxy Double R Racing 15 24.632s 2:14.485
14 21 Hideki YAMAUCHI JPN B-Max Engineering 15 26.502s 2:15.086
15 28 Alexander SIMS GBR ThreeBond with T-Sport 15 26.757s 2:14.684
16 17 Jazeman JAAFAR MAS Tom's 15 27.834s 2:15.240
17 31 Tom BLOMQVIST GBR Euro International 15 28.565s 2:15.172
18 24 Mitchell GILBERT AUS Mucke Motorsport 15 31.899s 2:15.729
19 3 Sven MULLER GER Prema Powerteam 15 32.744s 2:14.720
20 12 Felix SERRALLES PRI Fortec Motorsport 15 33.276s 2:15.583
21 18 Yuichi NAKAYAMA JPN Tom's 15 47.525s 2:15.717
22 25 Andrea RODA ITA Jo Zeller Racing 15 59.222s 2:16.726
23 27 Luis Sa SILVA ANG Angola Racing Team 14 1 LAP 2:16.672
24 30 Dennis Van De LAAR NED Van Amersfoort Racing 14 1 LAP 2:17.446
DNF 11 Ryo HIRAKAWA JPN KCMG by RSS 12 D.N.F. 2:15.670
DNF 29 Lucas AUER AUT Van Amersfoort Racing 12 D.N.F. 2:15.704
DNF 10 Jack HARVEY GBR Carlin 12 D.N.F. 2:15.805
DNF 1 Daniel JUNCADELLA ESP Prema Powerteam 2 D.N.F. 2:25.595
DNF 4 Hannes VANASSELDONK NED Prema Powerteam 1 D.N.F. 2:24.718
DNF 32 Lucas WOLF GER URD Rennsport 0 D.N.F. -
Fast Lap 7 Antonio DA COSTA Por Carlin 11 102.54mph -

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review