Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Front row starters don't win Daytona 500 often UPDATE A reader writes, Dear AR1.com, Of course the front row starters don't win the 500 much, not when the grid is computer generated.  Did you see Danica Patrick, the greatest driver in the history of NASCAR (I passed half my baloney sandwich out my nostrils I laughed so hard when I read that on your site), in the first Daytona Duel yesterday?  Started on pole and was dead last by lap 12.  The computer generated qualifying speed doesn't help you in the real race unless they give you an extra big restrictor plate.  Mordichai Rosen, Los Angeles, CA

02/22/13 In the 54 previous runnings of the Daytona 500, only seven drivers have won from the pole position. Only two of these drivers accomplished the feat more than once -- Cale Yarborough (1968, 1984) and Bill Elliott (1985, 1987). Dale Jarrett was the most recent polesitter to capture the Harley J. Earl Trophy when he won the event in 2000. The other drivers to win the Daytona 500 from the pole were Fireball Roberts (1962), Richard Petty (1966), Buddy Baker (1980) and Gordon (1999).

Winning the Daytona 500 from the outside of the front row is even rarer. Only six drivers have accomplished this feat, with Richard Petty the only one with more than one victory in the race from the second starting position. The most recent driver to win from this spot was once again Jarrett, in 1993, Gordon's first full-time season in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. A.J. Foyt (1962), Geoffrey Bodine (1986), Darrell Waltrip (1989) and Ernie Irvan (1991) are the four other drivers. NASCAR Wire Service
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review