Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Felipe Nasr leads Barcelona GP2 free practice
Felipe Nasr
Felipe Nasr has set the tone: the Carlin racer is hungry for glory this week at Circuit de Catalunya and he wasted no time in showing his rivals how quick he can be setting up the fastest lap time in this morning’s free practice session in a 1:30.103, seven tenths clear from James Calado who finished second.

The session opened on a drying track with most of the drivers opting to wait before taking to the track. Robin Frijns set the early pace. The rookie’s lap time of 1:31.264 gave the signal for the remainder of the drivers to feed onto the track. Frijns improved on his next attempt to clock in a time of 1:31.010.

Ten minutes into the session, Nasr put his head down and lit sectors 1 and 2 in purple before crossing the start/finish line in 1:30.103, a clear nine tenths from Frijns. His teammate Jolyon Palmer also found the extra pace to move up to P2, but eight tenths slower than the Brazilian and thus enough room for Calado and Johnny Cecotto to split the Carlin pair.

Halfway through the session, the track was yellow flagged when Simon Trummer stopped at Turn 13. Most of the drivers made their way back into the pits. Series leader Stefano Coletti who had yet to make an appearance onto the track decided to benefit from light traffic to make his way into the top ten. At the checkered flag, Nasr retained P1 ahead of Calado, Cecotto, Palmer, Frijns, Coletti, Sam Bird, Tom Dillmann, Marcus Ericsson and Fabio Leimer.

If this morning’s weather forecast brought rain, this afternoon’s should bring sunny conditions also known as the best conditions for a classic GP2 qualifying session at 16.00 local time.

Barcelona – Free Practice
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:30.103 13
2. James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:30.864 11
3. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:30.951 8
4. Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:30.977 15
5. Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1:31.010 13
6. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:31.092 8
7. Sam Bird RUSSIAN TIME 1:31.265 10
8. Tom Dillmann RUSSIAN TIME 1:31.290 10
9. Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:31.295 12
10. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:31.303 10
11. Mitch Evans Arden International 1:31.339 11
12. Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 1:31.389 11
13. Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing 1:31.492 11
14. Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing 1:31.528 14
15. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:31.577 12
16. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1:31.846 16
17. Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:31.930 7
18. Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing 1:32.020 15
19 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.077 11
20. Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing 1:32.276 14
21. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:32.413 12
22. Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team 1:32.468 14
23. Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:32.646 10
24. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:33.455 9
25. Simon Trummer Rapax 1:41.742 0
26. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport -- 0
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review