Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
IZOD IndyCar Series drivers nominated for ESPY Awards
2012 IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay and 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan have been nominated for an ESPY Award in the "Best Driver" category.

The 21st ESPYs will be broadcast live July 17 (9 p.m. ET on ESPN) from the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles with host Jon Hamm. The event celebrates the best sports moments of the year.

Fans have the opportunity to select the winners in each category by voting online through July 17 at http://espn.go.com/espys/2013/

Hunter-Reay became the first American IZOD IndyCar Series champion since 2006 as he won four races in 2012. Kanaan captured the 97th Indianapolis 500 on May 26, a record-setting race that saw 14 leaders and 68 lead changes. Jimmy Vasser was the last Indy car driver to win the Best Driver Award in 1997.

The ESPYs and related events benefit the V Foundation for Cancer Research in memory of the late Jim Valvano.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review