Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
NMPA Announces Nominees For 2014 Hall of Fame
The National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) announced that there are five new candidates for its Hall of Fame. Those elected by the membership will be inducted in ceremonies in January 2014 in Charlotte, NC.

The nominees for 2104 are:

L.D. Ottinger - Two-time Sportsman champion ('74 & '75), perennial top 10 points finisher in Sportsman/Nationwide Series.

Ray Evernham - Three-time Sprint Cup Series champion crew chief for Jeff Gordon, helped bring Dodge back to NASCAR competition as a team owner in 2001, often described as greatest crew chief of all time.

Mario Andretti - A four-time INDY champion, 1978 F-1 champion, 1969 Indianapolis 500 winner, 1967 Daytona 500 winner; one of two people to win in Formula 1, Indy racing, NASCAR, and World Sportscar Championship. Only driver to win Indy 500, Daytona 500 and F-1 championship.

Joe Gibbs - As a NASCAR car owner, has won three Sprint Cup championships. His drivers have won 105 Sprint Cup and 82 Nationwide Series races (as of 5/23/2013). JGR also has two NNS owner's championships to its credit.

Steve Waid - Four-decade career included stints with daily newspapers before joining staff of Grand National Scene. Rose to position of publisher for the weekly trade paper. Former winner of the NMPA's George Cunningham Award and a recipient of the Henry T. McLemore Award for outstanding lifetime achievement in motorsports journalism. NMPA

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review