Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
GP3: Vainio scorches to pole in Budapest
It’s all smiles for the Finn Aaro Vainio, the Koiranen GP ace flew to pole position in the dying stages of the qualifying session to secure his third pole in GP3. Conor Daly will start from second for ART Grand Prix with MW Arden’s Daniil Kvyat in third.

Once again the GP3 drivers had to contend with searing temperatures, 40 degrees on track as the drivers pushed to the limit in the 30 minute session. The ART Grand Prix trio of Daly, Facu Regalia and Jack Harvey were first to make their way onto the track with Kvyat the early pacesetter in the 1m34’s.

Koiranen GP’s Kevin Korjus was first to dip into the 1m33’s with Lewis Williamson (Bamboo Engineering) a tenth off. After ten minutes, the drivers returned to the pitlane for a new set of Pirelli rubber to continue in their quest for pole.

Harvey shot to the top of the timings until his teammate Daly demoted him, bettering his time by a mere 0.002s. Regalia joined his teammates by rising to P1 as the clock ticked down. Adderly Fong (Status Grand Prix) spun and was unable to continue, his car having to be pushed to the side of the track.

Daly reclaimed back his provisional pole with a 1:32.987, as the final minutes were a hype of activity with positions swapping throughout the pack. Williamson, Tio Ellinas (Marussia Manor Racing) and Carlos Sainz (MW Arden) were all men on the move, heading into the top three but all eyes were on Vainio who upped his pace to set pole position – his first of the 2013 season to set himself up for this afternoon’s race.

At the chequered flag it was Vainio a tenth faster than Daly, with Kvyat, Korjus, Harvey, Williamson, Melville McKee, Sainz, Regalia and Ellinas completing the top ten.

Race 1 takes place at 17.20 CET later today, with increasing temperatures and eight different winners so far, who knows what to expect for this afternoon’s race!

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Aaro Vainio Koiranen GP 1:32.811 14
2. Conor Daly ART Grand Prix 1:32.987 13
3. Daniil Kvyat MW Arden 1:33.070 16
4. Kevin Korjus Koiranen GP 1:33.104 13
5. Jack Harvey ART Grand Prix 1:33.109 `3
6. Lewis Williamson Bamboo Engineering 1:33.200 12
7. Melville McKee Bamboo Engineering 1:33.337 14
8. Carlos Sainz MW Arden 1:33.345 15
9. Facu Regalia ART Grand Prix 1:33.354 13
10. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.384 14
11. Robert Visoiu MW Arden 1:33.439 14
12. Giovanni Venturini Trident 1:33.582 14
13. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:33..599 14
14. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.614 14
15. Nick Yelloly Carlin 1:33.658 13
16. Dino Zamparelli Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.715 13
17. Patrick Kujala Koiranen GP 1:33.778 12
18. Eric Lichtenstein Carlin 1:33.800 13
19. David Fumanelli Trident 1:33.893 13
20. Jimmy Eriksson Status Grand Prix 1:34.089 13
21. Josh Webster Status Grand Prix 1:34.237 14
22. Adderly Fong Status Grand Prix 1:34.241 10
23. Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:34.952 15
24. Emanuele Zonzini Trident 1:35.006 14
25. Samin Gomez Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.491 14
26. Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 1:36.046 12
27. Carmen Jorda Bamboo Engineering 1:37.246 15
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review