Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Kvyat sets the pace in Free GP3 Practice at Monza
Russian Daniil Kvyat topped the timings in the official Free Practice for Round 7 of the 2013 GP3 Series season in Monza, Italy with a laptime of 1:37.715. MW Arden team mate Carlos Sainz was next along in P2, ahead of Carlin’s Alexander Sims.

The session opened up with high track temperatures of 37 degrees as the 27 drivers ventured around the Autodromo Nazionale Monza. First out onto the circuit was Sainz, Robert Visoiu and David Fumanelli. Trident’s Fumanelli was first to lap in the 1m39’s before Kvyat, Kevin Korjus and Conor Daly bettered the Italian’s time.

Kvyat headed the timings by a mere 0.020s over Sims at the midway point, with the Russian GP3 winner again improving on his own personal best to increase his advantage. The drivers made their way into the pits towards the latter part of Free Practice, some to try new Pirelli tires, whilst others concentrated on strategy and longer runs.

Bamboo Engineering’s Lewis Williamson shot to P1 but only for a few seconds as Carlin’s Nick Yelloly lapped quicker. Adderly Fong (Status Grand Prix) lit up the timing screen, setting the fastest first sector and a good middle, but went off into the gravel at Turn 11, ending his session.

With just a few seconds left on the clock, Kvyat reclaimed his position back at the top of the timesheets to end fastest overall, just one tenth quicker than Sainz. At the checkered flag Sims took P3, ahead of Yelloly, Visoiu, Fumanelli, Alex Fontana, Williamson, Melville McKee and Giovanni Venturini.

Qualifying takes place at 09.45 CET tomorrow morning, this will be even more important with all eyes on the battle for the GP3 championship and with 4 points up for stake for claiming pole position, competition will be fiercer than ever…

Free Practice
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Daniil Kvyat MW Arden 1:37.715 16
2. Carlos Sainz MW Arden 1:37.872 19
3. Alexander Sims Carlin 1:37.941 18
4. Nick Yelloly Carlin 1:38.073 19
5. Robert Visoiu MW Arden 1:38.201 20
6. David Fumanelli Trident 1:38.427 17
7. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.686 20
8. Lewis Williamson Bamboo Engineering 1:38.760 19
9. Melville McKee Bamboo Engineering 1:38.815 18
10. Giovanni Venturini Trident 1:38.866 17
11. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:38.875 18
12. Facu Regalia ART Grand Prix 1:38.937 17
13. Dino Zamparelli Marussia Manor Racing 1:39.045 19
14. Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:39.055 20
15. Conor Daly ART Grand Prix 1:39.095 17
16. Kevin Korjus Koiranen GP 1:39.169 18
17. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.177 20
18. Emanuele Zonzini Trident 1:39.231 20
19. Aaro Vainio Koiranen GP 1:39.254 16
20. Jack Harvey ART Grand Prix 1:39.355 17
21. Josh Webster Status Grand Prix 1:39.431 21
22. Samin Gomez Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.566 20
23. Jimmy Eriksson Status Grand Prix 1:39.595 22
24. Patrick Kujala Koiranen GP 1:39.931 18
25. Adderly Fong Status Grand Prix 1:39.972 18
26. Carmen Jorda Bamboo Engineering 1:41.156 19
27. Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 1:41.204 12
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review