Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Spengler loses pole position – Green moves up (Update) UPDATE DTM champion Bruno Spengler has lost his pole position for Sunday’s eighth season round at Oschersleben. Because the BMW driver had used a tire that was only admitted for the fourth heat during the third qualifying heat already, the stewards of the meeting dropped him five places on the grid.

While Spengler will be starting from sixth place into the race on Sunday at 13.30 hrs, Audi driver Jamie Green moves up into first place. For the Brit, it is his first pole since his transfer to Audi at the start of the 2013 season and his seventh in the DTM. Points’ leader Mike Rockenfeller also benefited from Spengler’s grid penalty. The Audi driver moved up from fourth to third place on the grid. Pieter Slinger reporting

Bruno Spengler
09/14/13 When three people quarrel, the fourth rejoices. Canadian Bruno Spengler, fourth in the drivers’ standings, showed a dominant performance in qualifying for the eighth DTM season round at the etropolis Motorsport Arena Oschersleben and claimed pole position. With his BMW M3 DTM, the reigning DTM champion completed his lap in the decisive fourth qualifying heat in 1:20.140 minutes. Jamie Green ended up second fastest with his Audi RS 5 DTM. Brazilian Augusto Farfus (BMW) will be starting from third place into the 400th race in history of the DTM, just ahead of point’ leader Mike Rockenfeller (Audi).

Spengler said about his second pole position of the season: “After two non-scores in the previous races, this pole is really good. The car was very fast and it was great fun. For me, it is just maximum attack from now on. ‘Rocky’ is clearly in the lead and I have to be up front and win all the time.”|

With second place on the grid, Audi driver Green claimed his best qualifying result of the season to date. “I am very happy with my second place. With the rain, it wasn’t easy for me, but I chose a good line and now, I am really looking forward to the race,” Green said.

Rockenfeller, who is 35 points clear in the drivers’ standings, made it into the final qualifying heat as the fastest driver, but then only ended up fourth. “Too bad. When you make it that far, you want to be all the way up front as well. Because of the changeable conditions, qualifying wasn’t easy. I would be happy to fight for victory with Bruno tomorrow,” said ‘Rocky’, who could benefit from the bad luck for his two main rivals in the battle for the DTM title.

Mercedes-Benz drivers Christian Vietoris and Robert Wickens retired early and thus failed to claim better starting grid positions. Canadian Wickens will be starting from eleventh position as the best-placed Mercedes-Benz driver, Vietoris will be starting from 20th place into the race on Sunday.|

For Gary Paffett and Daniel Juncadella (both Mercedes-Benz), there had already been bad news before qualifying. After they had used unmarked tires in free practice, they were dropped five places on the grid by the stewards. Paffett, who had been fastest driver of a DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé on the track, will therefore start from twelfth place, Juncadella will start from 22nd position.

Prior to the race on Sunday, Rockenfeller is leading in the drivers’ standings with 106 points from Vietoris with 71 and Wickens with 70 points. In fourth place, defending champion Spengler has 67 points, Farfus has 66. The eighth round of the season will cover 51 laps and 188.496 kilometers and will start on Sunday at 13.30 hrs. German Time (CET). Pieter Slinger reporting

Qualifying results:

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap
1 Bruno Spengler Schnitzer BMW 1m20.140s +0.000s
2 Jamie Green Abt Audi 1m20.263s +0.123s
3 Augusto Farfus RBM BMW 1m20.442s +0.302s
4 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 1m20.444s +0.304s
5 Dirk Werner Schnitzer BMW 1m20.229s Q3
6 Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 1m20.306s Q3
7 Miguel Molina Phoenix Audi 1m20.371s Q3
8 Martin Tomczyk RMG BMW 1m20.467s Q3
9 Timo Scheider Abt Audi 1m20.761s Q3
10 Adrien Tambay Abt Audi 1m21.161s Q3
11 Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes 1m21.185s Q2
12 Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 1m20.333s Q2
13 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 1m21.277s Q2
14 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Mercedes 1m21.351s Q2
15 Marco Wittmann MTEK BMW 1m21.489s Q2
16 Timo Glock MTEK BMW 1m21.540s Q2
17 Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 1m21.077s Q1
18 Joey Hand RBM BMW 1m21.173s Q1
19 Andy Priaulx RMG BMW 1m21.181s Q1
20 Christian Vietoris HWA Mercedes 1m21.400s Q1
21 Roberto Merhi HWA Mercedes 1m21.517s Q1
22 Daniel Juncadella Mucke Mercedes 1m21.258s Q1
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review