Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Facts and Figures for the 400th DTM race
Today, Sunday September 15, 2013, the DTM celebrated a very special occasion: the 8th season round at the etropolis Motorsport Arena Oschersleben was the 400th race in the 30 years’ history of the most popular international touring car series. Since the premiere at Zolder on March 1st, 1984, the DTM has fascinated its fans and has produced many interesting facts.
  • So far, 63 different drivers had their name written on the winners’ list.
  • In total, 17 different brands raced in the DTM: Alfa Romeo, Audi, BMW, Chevrolet, Fiat, Ford, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, MG, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Opel, Rover, Toyota, Vauxhall, Volkswagen, Volvo.
  • Nine different brands scored race wins in the DTM. Mercedes-Benz achieved the highest number of wins (170, 42.5 percent) from Audi (65/16.25 percent) and BMW (57/14.25 percent).
  • Bernd Schneider (Mercedes-Benz) is the driver with the highest number of race wins with a total of 43 victories. With five titles, ‘Mr. DTM’ also is the record champion.
  • Only four drivers managed to score more than one title. Bernd Schneider (Mercedes-Benz) succeeded five times, Klaus Ludwig (Ford and Mercedes-Benz) three times. Mattias Ekström and Timo Scheider (both Audi) each won two championship titles. In total, there were 18 different champions so far, including ITC champion Manuel Reuter (Opel/1996).
  • Ellen Lohr is the only lady racer to win a DTM race. In 1992, she won at the Hockenheimring with Mercedes-Benz.
  • The Hockenheim round in 1988 had the largest grid in DTM history with 44 drivers.
  • The 1996 DTM round at the Norisring brought the closest finish. The difference between race winner Klaus Ludwig and runner-up Uwe Alzen (both Opel) was only 0.089 seconds. On the other hand, Winfried Vogt won at Mainz-Finthen in 1985 with a margin of 51.96 seconds.
  • On two occasions in DTM history, Mercedes-Benz locked out the first six positions: at Hockenheim in 2001 and at Barcelona in 2007. Audi achieved the same feat at Valencia in 2011.
  • Mercedes-Benz had the longest series of wins. In 1995, drivers of the brand from Stuttgart were on the podium as the winners in eight consecutive races. Pieter Slinger reporting
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review