Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Former CART IndyCar team boss Steve Horne voted chairman of V8 Supercars Commission
V8 SUPERCARS has confirmed long-time motorsport figure Steve Horne has been voted as the new chairman of the category's Commission.

Horne takes over the role from multiple V8 champion Mark Skaife, who now moves into a strategic role with V8 Supercars.

Joining Horne on the Commission will be Neil Crompton, the former racer and media figure replacing Chris Lambden as the category's Independent Commissioner.

"I am delighted the Commission has appointed Steve and Neil to these important positions for the sport," V8 Supercars CEO James Warburton said.

"Steve is the ideal successor to Mark who has taken the Commission through its' first two years with great passion, success and professionalism.

"The role of Commission Chairman needs to be an independent, strong and robust leader. They need to effectively manage the Commission and its' process, make the tough decisions, broker compromise where required and be a good communicator. Steve has all of these traits."

Horne will integrate his vast experience and leadership into the role.

"I view this role as continuing the great work already done by Mark and the Commission," Horne said.

"I want to provide a sounding board for key players' thoughts and ideas, to make strong and sensible decisions and bring a strategic thought process to those key decision making moments."

Crompton has been an elite driver in V8 Supercars and overseas, a team manager, a commercial manager and more recently known for his expert and in-depth commentary.

"Neil has an amazing depth of knowledge of V8 Supercars which he imparts with great wisdom on and off the television screen," Warburton said.

"I have met very few people with such an extensive understanding of the industry combined with an amazing passion. Neil will be a great successor to Chris who did such an outstanding job in the first two years of the Commission."

In line with the constitution of the Commission, nominations were taken, a short list formed and then a formal vote was taken to fill the roles of Chairman and Independent.

The term of the Chairman and Independent Commissioner is two years.

Steve Horne (Chairman)
James Warburton (V8 Supercars)
Shane Howard (V8 Supercars)
Brad Jones (Brad Jones Racing)
Tim Edwards (Ford Performance Racing)
Todd Kelly (Nissan Motorsport)
Neil Crompton (Independent Commissioner)
Steve Hallam (Walkinshaw Racing - alternate Commissioner)
Damien White (V8 Supercars - alternate Commissioner).

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review