Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Maiden DTM pole position for Marco Wittmann
Marco Whitmann
For the first time in his career, Marco Wittmann (BMW) will be starting from pole position into a DTM race. In qualifying for the ninth season round at Zandvoort in The Netherlands, the DTM rookie claimed the best starting grid position with a lap time of 1:30.894 minutes in the fourth qualifying heat. Augusto Farfus (BMW) and Mike Rockenfeller (Audi), the two challengers for the 2013 DTM title, qualified in second and third place respectively.

Brazilian Farfus will be starting second, points’ leader Rockenfeller will line up right behind him in third. Timo Scheider (Audi) will be starting Sunday’s race from fourth place. The best-placed Mercedes-Benz driver, Gary Paffett, ended up twelfth in the battle for the starting grid positions.

Pos Driver Car Time Behind
1 Marco Wittmann MTEK BMW 1m30.894s +0.000s
2 Augusto Farfus RBM BMW 1m30.979s +0.085s
3 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 1m31.325s +0.431s
4 Timo Scheider Abt Audi 1m32.524s +1.630s
5 Joey Hand RBM BMW 1m31.439s +0.545s
6 Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 1m31.443s +0.549s
7 Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 1m31.460s +0.566s
8 Timo Glock MTEK BMW 1m31.614s +0.720s
9 Adrien Tambay Abt Audi 1m31.621s +0.727s
10 Miguel Molina Phoenix Audi 1m32.106s +1.212s
11 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 1m31.382s +0.488s
12 Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 1m31.414s +0.520s

Pieter Slinger

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review