Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Austin Dillon Crowned 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion (Update) UPDATE A reader writes, Dear AR1.com, I have predicted the last five Daytona 500 pole winners.  In 2014 can I keep my perfect streak alive?  I predict that 'The Chosen One,' Austin Dillon, driving the return of Dale Earnhardt's No. 3 will sit on the pole for the Daytona 500 and the all the NASCAR Bubbas will cheer and tears will be running down their cheeks in remembrance of Dale Earnhardt Sr.  It will be a heart wrenching moment. If not for NASCAR's refusal to mandate the HANS Device, he would still be with us today.  Inadvertently they killed their biggest star. Mordichai Rosen, Los Angeles, CA.

11/16/13 Austin Dillon, driver of the No. 3 AdvoCare Chevrolet Camaro, claimed the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) championship with a 12th-place finish in the season-ending race at Homestead-Miami Speedway. His title, the first for Dillon and fourth for team owner Richard Childress, marks Chevrolet’s 17th Driver’s Championship since the inception of the series in 1982.

"On behalf of Chevrolet, congratulations to Austin Dillon and the No. 3 Chevrolet Camaro team on winning the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series Driver’s Championship,” said Jim Campbell, Chevrolet U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “This is extra special following Austin’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship in 2011. Austin and his team demonstrated determination, perseverance and that never-give-up attitude to win their first Nationwide Series championship. Congratulations to Richard Childress and his entire Richard Childress Racing organization on this accomplishment.”

In the first year of NNS competition for the Chevrolet Camaro, Dillon piloted the nameplate to seven pole awards. The 23-year old first-time NNS champion displayed the model of consistency by amassing 13 top-five’s and 22 top-10’s over the 33-race season.  Dillon is now the third driver in NASCAR history to win both a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series title (2011) and a NNS championship. 

“We fought,” said Dillon. “My guys kept me positive in the car. I just knew I had to go on that last restart. I’ve been criticized on restarts for a long time, but that was a pretty good one. I just hung up against the wall there and tried to ride it out. Thank goodness for this AdvoCare Chevrolet and everybody that helped us. My grandfather (Richard Childress) and my whole family are so supportive. My team is the best and this is amazing. We showed tonight that you never give up.”

Dillon joins 13 other Team Chevy drivers to score this achievement.  Others include: Clint Bowyer (2008), Martin Truex, Jr. (2004-05), Brian Vickers (2003), Kevin Harvick (2001 & ‘06), Jeff Green (2000), Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (1998-99), Randy LaJoie (1996-97), Johnny Benson (1995), David Green (1994), Steve Grissom (1993), Joe Nemechek (1992) and Larry Pearson (1987)

“Austin’s championship was a great way to end the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series season for Chevrolet,” Campbell added. “We’d also like to congratulate Kyle Larson for winning the Series’ Sunoco Rookie-of-the-Year title. It’s going to be great having both Austin and Kyle as part of Team Chevy in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series next year.”

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review