Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Sebring Standings after 9 Hours
The 2014 12 Hours of Sebring is heating up, with the ninth hour going by without major incident in the second TUDOR United SportsCar Championship race.

At the 3/4 mark (9 hours) of the 12 Hours of Sebring the Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais Action Express Corvette DP has moved back into the lead ahead of the Morgan Nissan of Pla/Brundle/Yacaman.

It was the Prototype class which gave the most action, with Alex Brundle in the OAK Racing Morgan-Nissan who quickly dispatched Scott Sharp in the Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD and set his sights on the leaders.

For a while the man to beat was in the sister ESM car in the shape of Johannes van Overbeek. He was going great guns for a long period before being caught out by the setting sun on the Ulmann Straight and tangled with the Paul Miller Racing Audi R8 knocking the Honda out of the lead.

Corvette leads GTLM at 8-hour mark
In GT Le Mans it was very much the Corvette show with the #4 leading for the majority of the hour in the hands of both Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner who were both fighting off challenges from the #93 Viper and the #912 Porsche.

GT Daytona brought out the only Full Course Caution of the hour after the brake disc in The Racer’s Group #009 Aston Martin made a desperate bid for freedom and ground itself free through the wheel of the car before depositing itself on the racing line in the middle of turn seven.

That caution period featured the #3 Corvette go into the pits for an emergency fuel pump replacement which cost it even more laps.

In the action filled PC class there are only two runners remaining, the #09 at the hands of David Heinemeier Hansson and the #54 of James Gue.

Hour 8 Report

The No. 02 Ford EcoBoost/Riley DP and driver Sage Karam continued to lead the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup  Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring round, after eight hours, as Johannes van Overbeek led the race overall in the No. 2 Tequila Patron HPD ARX-03b.

Karam was running second at the eight-hour mark after leading at four hours to give him and the No. 02 team a total of nine points toward the season-ending $100,000 Patron Endurance Cup for the Prototype (P) class. Karam’s co-drivers are Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan. The competition encompasses the four TUDOR United SportsCar Championship endurance races at Daytona International Speedway, Sebring International Raceway, Watkins Glen International and Road Atlanta for a total of 52 hours of racing.

Meanwhile, van Overbeek and the No. 2 Extreme Speed Motorsports team vaulted themselves into a tie for second with seven points in the standings at eight hours by virtue of their race lead. Van Overbeek is sharing the ride with Ed Brown and IndyCar racer Simon Pagenaud.

The Rolex 24 At Daytona-winning No. 5 Corvette DP squad from Action Express Racing also had seven Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup points at the eight-hour mark. Christian Fittipaldi was third in the car he is sharing with Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais. The No. 5 was second after four hours.

Fourth in the Patron Endurance Cup race standings after eight hours, with five points, was the No. 1 ESM Patron HPD ARX-03b/Honda shared by Ryan Dalziel, Scott Sharp and David Brabham. All other P class cars had four points.

No. 09 RSR Racing Leads Patron Endurance Cup In PC, No. 54 CORE Team Leads Race

A number of incidents in the middle third of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring have pared down the Prototype Challenge (PC) field, but the No. 09 RSR Racing ORECA FLM09 team and the No. 54 CORE autosport team have positioned themselves as the teams to beat.

While the No. 54 CORE team and drivers Colin Braun, James Gue and Jon Bennett held the PC class lead, the No. 9 RSR team parlayed a pair of strong segments into the Patron Endurance Cup lead at Sebring. The No. 09 RSR machine was second at both the four- and eight-hour marks, giving the team and drivers Duncan Ende, Bruno Junqueira and David Heinemeier Hansson a total of eight points from the race.

The five points for leading the race at eight hours moved the team into a tie for second place in the Patron Endurance Cup race with seven points. Also tied for second was the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA FLM09 team of Mike Guasch, Frankie Montecalvo and Gunnar Jeannette.

The No. 52 team led the first Patron Endurance Cup segment in the race at the four-hour mark. Shortly thereafter, though, Montecalvo and the No. 52 were eliminated from the race in an accident that also removed the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA FLM09 PC car driven at the time by David Ostella.

Fourth in the PC Patron Endurance Cup race standings with five points was the No. 25 8Star Motorsports machine of Tom Kimber-Smith, Mike Marsal, Eric Lux and Sean Rayhall. All others in class had four points.

Hour 9 Standings

Pos No. Class Drivers Laps Total Tm Make
1 5 P Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais 209 8:57:19.020 Corvette DP
2 42 P Pla/Brundle/Yacaman 209 8:57:21.502 Nissan Morgan
3 1 P Sharp/Dalziel/Brabham 209 8:57:22.303 HPD ARX-03b
4 01 P Pruett/Rojas/Franchitti 209 8:57:22.644 Ford Riley DP
5 02 P Dixon/Kanaan/Karam 209 8:57:22.996 Ford Riley DP
6 10 P Angelelli/R.Taylor/J.Taylor 209 8:57:26.486 Corvette DP
7 9 P Br.Frisselle/Bu.Frisselle/ Fogarty 209 8:57:27.237 Corvette DP
8 2 P Brown/van Overbeek/Pagenaud 209 8:57:32.898 HPD ARX-03b
9 60 P Pew/Negri/Wilson 208 8:57:29.809 Ford Riley DP
10 09 PC Ende/Junqueira/Hansson 207 8:57:47.492 ORECA FLM09
11 54 PC Bennett/Braun/Gue 207 8:57:47.607 ORECA FLM09
12 4 GTLM Gavin/Milner/Liddell 206 8:57:51.652 Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
13 912 GTLM Long/Christensen/Bergmeister 206 8:57:56.177 Porsche 911 RSR
14 93 GTLM R.Bell/Bomarito/Wittmer 206 8:57:56.586 SRT Viper GTS-R
15 17 GTLM Henzler/Sellers/Holzer 206 8:58:12.118 Porsche 911 RSR
16 57 GTLM Krohn/Jonsson/Bertolini 206 8:58:39.543 Ferrari F458 Italia
17 55 GTLM Auberlen/Priaulx/Hand 206 8:58:42.970 BMW Z4 GTE
18 8 PC Cheng/van der Zande/Bird/ Fuentes 205 8:58:41.179 ORECA FLM09
19 85 PC Miller/Kraut/Simpson 203 8:58:11.015 ORECA FLM09
20 91 GTLM D.Farnbacher/Goossens/ Hunter-Reay 203 8:58:37.792 SRT Viper GTS-R
21 3 GTLM Magnussen/Garcia/Briscoe 202 8:58:28.867 Chevrolet Corvette C7.R
22 911 GTLM Tandy/Lietz/Pilet 202 9:00:07.906 Porsche 911 RSR
23 555 GTD Sweedler/T.Bell/Mediani/Segal 201 8:57:53.135 Ferrari 458 Italia
24 94 GTD Cameron/Dalla Lana/Palttala/ Lewis 201 8:58:06.694 BMW Z4
25 46 GTD Mies/Putman/Espenlaub 201 8:58:10.256 Audi R8 LMS
26 35 GTD Neiman/von Moltke/ Albuquerque 201 8:58:12.923 Audi R8 LMS
27 70 P Tremblay/Long/Devlin 201 8:58:13.914 Mazda SKYACTIV-D
28 23 GTD James/M.Farnbacher/Riberas 201 8:58:15.983 Porsche 911 GT America
29 44 GTD Potter/Lally/Seefried 201 8:58:16.263 Porsche 911 GT America
30 13 GTD M.Plumb/Snow/Heylen/H.Plumb 201 8:59:15.067 Porsche 911 GT America
31 50 P Pace/DeFoor/Hinton 200 8:55:47.668 Dinan Riley DP
32 22 GTD MacNeil/Keen/Frommenwiler 200 8:58:08.180 Porsche 911 GT America
33 45 GTD Canache/Pumpelly/Latif/ Winkelhock 199 8:58:18.660 Audi R8 LMS
34 32 GTD Sofronas/Welch/Basseng 199 8:58:19.100 Audi R8 LMS
35 6 P Graf/Luhr/Mardenborough 197 8:57:34.879 Nissan ORECA
36 56 GTLM Mueller/Edwards/Werner 197 8:58:12.479 BMW Z4 GTE
37 31 P Curran/Said/Cosmo 196 8:57:46.173 Corvette DP
38 90 P Westbrook/Valiante/ Rockenfeller 195 8:57:38.298 Corvette DP
39 81 GTD Faulkner/Faieta/ Avenatti 195 8:58:10.865 Porsche 911 GT America
40 49 GTD Roda/Ruberti/Venturi 195 8:58:17.178 Ferrari 458 Italia
41 48 GTD Miller/Haase/M.Bell 195 8:58:30.035 Audi R8 LMS

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review