News

F1 Photos

F1 Spotters Guide

2002 F1 Teams/Drivers

Arrows
Enrique Bernoldi
H. H. Frentzen

British American Racing
Jacques Villeneuve
Olivier Panis

Ferrari
M. Schumacher
Rubens Barrichello

Jaguar
Eddie Irvine
Pedro de la Rosa

Jordan
Takuma Sato
Giancarlo Fisichella

McLaren
Kimi Raikkonen
David Coulthard

Minardi
Alex Yoong
Mark Webber

Prost
H. H. Frentzen 
Luciano Burti

Renault
Jarno Trulli
Jenson Button

Sauber
Nick Heidfeld
Felipe Massa

Toyota
Mika Salo
Allan McNish

Williams
Ralf Schumacher
Juan Montoya

Convert this page to
another language

 
 

Speed Channel announces 2002 F1 schedule

February 25, 2002

SPEED Channel will again be home to Formula One racing in the United States, announcing it has reached an agreement to air live practice, qualifying and race coverage for nearly the entire 17-race Grand Prix schedule in 2002.

"Formula One racing is an important part of SPEED Channel's core programming," said network President Jim Liberatore. "Having just moved past the 50-million household mark, I think it is important that we continue to demonstrate a commitment to being the premier television destination for all motor sports fans, and our F1 package certainly supports that philosophy."

Veteran broadcaster Rick DeBruhl will lead the cast of SPEED Channel on-air talent, calling play-by-play, with analysis from former F1 driver David Hobbs and former F1 mechanic Steve Matchett. Peter Windsor will provide reporting from the paddock.

SPEED Channel's Formula One season kicks off Thursday, Feb. 28 with practice from the Grand Prix of Australia at 9 p.m. (ET). SPEED Channel will provide live race coverage of 16 of the 17 events, with enhanced coverage of the United States Grand Prix. Most races will be replayed on same-day tape at 10 p.m. (ET) -- check local listings.
Date Event Time (EST)  

 MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA    
Thu., Feb. 28 F-1 - Practice for GP of Australia 11:00 PM SDD
Fri., Mar. 1 F-1 - Qualifying for GP of Australia - Melbourne, Australia 9:00 PM LIVE
Sat., Mar. 2 F-1 - GP of Australia - Melbourne, Australia 9:00 PM LIVE
Sat., Mar. 2 F-1 - GP of Australia - Melbourne, Australia Preview 9:30 PM LIVE

 KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA    
Thu., Mar. 14 F-1 - Practice for Malaysian GP 12:00 Mid LIVE
Fri., Mar. 15 F-1 - Qualifying for Malaysian GP - Malaysia 12:00 Mid LIVE
Sat., Mar. 16 F-1 - Malaysian GP - Malaysia 1:30 AM LIVE

 SAO PAOLO, BRAZIL    
Fri., Mar. 29 F-1 - Practice for Brazilian GP 11:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Mar. 30 F-1 - Qualifying for Brazilian GP 11:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Mar. 31 F-1 - Brazilian GP 11:30 AM LIVE

 IMOLA, ITALY    
Fri., Apr. 12 F-1 - Practice for San Marino GP 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Apr. 13 F-1 - Qualifying for San Marino GP 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Apr. 14 F-1 - San Marino GP 7:30 AM LIVE

 BARCELONA, SPAIN    
Fri., Apr. 26 F-1 - Practice for Spanish GP - Barcelona, Spain 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Apr. 27 F-1 - Qualifying for Spanish GP - Barcelona, Spain 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Apr. 28 F-1 - Spanish GP - Barcelona, Spain 7:30 AM LIVE

 ZELTWEG, AUSTRIA    
Fri., May. 10 F-1 - Practice for Austrian GP 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., May. 11 F-1 - Qualifying for Austrian GP 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., May. 12 F-1 - Austrian GP 7:30 AM LIVE

 

 MONTE CARLO, MONACO    
Fri., May. 24 F-1 - Practice for Monaco GP - Monte Carlo, Monaco 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., May. 25 F-1 - Qualifying for Monaco GP - Monte Carlo, Monaco 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., May. 26 F-1 - Monaco GP - Monte Carlo, Monaco TBA TD/ABC

 MONTREAL, CANADA    
Fri., Jun. 7 F-1 - Practice for Canadian GP - Montreal, Quebec 1:00 PM LIVE
Sat., Jun. 8 F-1 - Qualifying for Canadian GP - Montreal, Quebec 1:00 PM LIVE
Sun., Jun. 9 F-1 - Canadian GP - Montreal, Quebec TBA TD/ABC

 NURBURG, GERMANY    
Fri., Jun. 21 F-1 - Practice for European GP 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Jun. 22 F-1 - Qualifying for European GP 6:30 AM LIVE
Sun., Jun. 23 F-1 - European GP - Nurburg, Germany 7:30 AM LIVE

 SILVERSTONE, ENGLAND    
Fri., Jul. 5 F-1 - Practice for British GP - Silverstone, England 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Jul. 6 F-1 - Qualifying for British GP - Silverstone, England 8:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Jul. 7 F-1 - British GP 7:30 AM LIVE

 MAGNY-COURS, FRANCE    
Fri., Jul. 19 F-1 - Practice for GP of France - Magny-Cours, France 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Jul. 20 F-1 - Qualifying for GP of France - Magny-Cours, France 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Jul. 21 F-1 - GP of France - Magny-Cours, France 7:30 AM LIVE

 HOCKENHEIM, GERMANY    
Fri., Jul. 26 F-1 - Practice for German GP - Hockenheim, Germany 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Jul. 27 F-1 - Qualifying for German GP - Hockenheim, Germany 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Jul. 28 F-1 - German GP - Hockenheim, Germany 7:30 AM LIVE

 BUDAPEST, HUNGARY    
Fri., Aug. 16 F-1 - Practice for Hungarian GP - Budapest, Hungary 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Aug. 17 F-1 - Qualifying for Hungarian GP - Budapest, Hungary 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Aug. 18 F-1 - Hungarian GP - Budapest, Hungary 7:30 AM LIVE

 SPA, BELGIUM    
Fri., Aug. 30 F-1 - Practice for Belgian GP - Francorchamps, Belgium 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Aug. 31 F-1 - Qualifying for Belgian GP - Francorchamps, Belgium 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Sep. 1 F-1 - Belgian GP - Francorchamps, Belgium 7:30 AM LIVE

 MONZA, ITALY    
Fri., Sep. 13 F-1 - Practice for GP of Italy - Monza, Italy 7:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Sep. 14 F-1 - Qualifying for GP of Italy - Monza, Italy 7:00 AM LIVE
Sun., Sep. 15 F-1 - Italian GP - Monza, Italy TBA TD/ABC

 INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA, USA    
Fri., Sep. 27 F-1 - Practice for USGP - Indianapolis, IN - Session #1 12:00 Noon LIVE
Sat., Sep. 28 F-1 - Practice for USGP - Indianapolis, IN - Session #3 10:00 AM LIVE
Sat., Sep. 28 F-1 - USGP Race - Indianapolis, IN 1:00 PM ABC
Sun., Sep. 29      

 SUZUKA, JAPAN    
Fri., Oct. 11 F-1 - Practice for Japanese GP - Suzuka, Japan 12 Mid LIVE
Sat., Oct. 12 F-1 - Qualifying for Japanese GP - Suzuka, Japan 12:00 MID LIVE
Sun., Oct. 13 F-1 - Japanese GP - Suzuka, Japan 1:00 AM LIVE
       
TBA F-1 Year in Racing   TD

Go to our forums to discuss this article

F1 Matters

2002 F1 Technical Regulations (PDF)

2002 F1 Sporting Regulations (PDF)

2002 Spotters Guide


Autocourse 2001/2002

Order Now

List Price: $54.95

Our Price: $38.46

You save $16.49 (30%)

e-mail us:
contacts@autoracing1.com

Back to the top

AutoRacing1 is an independent internet online publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by CART Inc., NASCAR, FIA,  FedEx, Winston, or any other series sponsor. This material may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without permission.
User agreement & disclaimer

Copyright 1999 - 2001, AutoRacing1, Hamilton, NJ