>


Advertisement
Rumors
Rumor Rating Description
A rumor rated as 'speculation' is one that has no supporting information
A rumor rated as 'strong' is one where we received information from more than one source.
A rumor rated as 'fact' is one that has proven to be true
A rumor rated as 'false' is one that has proven to be false based on new information
These rumors are just that, RUMORS, and are not to be taken as 'fact' unless so noted.  Please visit our Hot News page for news.  If you have a rumor, or can supply more information about one listed here, e-mail us with as much supporting information as possible and we may post it. User Agreement and Disclaimer. Newer rumors supersede older ones of the same topic.  Go to our forums to discuss any rumor.
for your iPhone
for your iPad

2015 IndyCar Silly Season Page | 2015 F1 Silly Season Page

Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
10/06/08
nassprint
NASCAR robbed Regan Smith at Talladega
A few weeks ago, I wrote that Lewis Hamilton had been robbed when he was unjustly penalized by the stewards at the Belgian Grand Prix. He appealed – but it turned out the penalty was unappealable (shades of Paul Tracy at Indianapolis!)

Yesterday, NASCAR driver Regan Smith was robbed blind at Talladega, and the people who make the rules in the Sprint Cup series had better go back to the drawing board fast before people start getting hurt.

An explanation is in order.

Tony Stewart was in first place yesterday afternoon as the field approached the finish line of the Amp Energy 500. Smith was right on his tail.

Smith faked a move to the right and Stewart went up the track to block him. Smith then dove low and, the way I saw it, had the inside lane fair and square by the time Stewart moved down to block.

We interrupt this narrative to explain the rules.

NASCAR says nobody can drive below the yellow line on the inside of the race track, period.

If a driver goes below the yellow line and makes a pass, that driver must give the place back. However, NASCAR also says that if a driver is forced – repeat: forced – below the yellow line, and makes a pass, the pass shall stand.

We will now resume the narrative.

When Stewart moved down to block Smith, Smith had a choice: He could go below the yellow line to avoid being hit by Stewart and continue his run to the finish line. Or, he could hold station, collide with Stewart and trigger another "Big One" (there were several multi-car pileups in yesterday's race).

So, he opted to avoid crashing, went below the yellow line, passed Stewart, and won the race. Except NASCAR ruled it was an illegal pass (huh? see rule above) and awarded the victory to Stewart.

So, I say he was jobbed. And although he didn't say it, Regan Smith isn't going to allow himself to be forced below the yellow line again because, if there is a next time, he will wreck the guy trying to force him down there. TheStar

Rumors Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003
2004200520062007
2008200920102011
2012201320142015

Search Rumors
Search Help

Banner 10000012