for your iPhone
for your iPad
Weathertech USCC


Prototype (P)

Prototype Challenge(PC)

GT Le Mans (GTLM

GT Daytona (GTD)

IMSA Point Standings
2018 Final (Top-10)
Prototype Drivers
Pos Drivers Total
1 Eric Curran 277
1 Felipe Nasr 277
2 Jonathan Bennett 274
2 Colin Braun 274
3 Jordan Taylor 270
3 Renger Van Der Zande 270
4 Misha Goikhberg 252
4 Stephen Simpson 252
5 Dane Cameron 251
5 Juan Pablo Montoya 251
6 Filipe Albuquerque 249
7 Ricky Taylor 243
7 Helio Castroneves 243
8 Oliver Jarvis 234
8 Tristan Nunez 234
9 Pipo Derani 232
10 Jonathan Bomarito 218

1 Jan Magnussen 322
1 Antonio Garcia 322
2 Richard Westbrook 316
2 Ryan Briscoe 316
3 Oliver Gavin 310
3 Tommy Milner 310
4 Dirk Mueller 308
4 Joey Hand 308
5 Earl Bamber 308
5 Laurens Vanthoor 308
6 Alexander Sims 304
6 Connor De Phillippi 304
7 Nick Tandy 299
7 Patrick Pilet 299
8 John Edwards 278
8 Jesse Krohn 278
9 Bill Auberlen 106
10 Frederic Makowiecki 93

1 Bryan Sellers 333
1 Madison Snow 333
2 Katherine Legge 329
3 Jeroen Bleekemolen 299
3 Ben Keating 299
4 Cooper Macneil 295
5 Kyle Marcelli 268
5 Dominik Baumann 268
6 Alvaro Parente 264
7 Patrick Long 263
7 Christina Nielsen 263
8 John Potter 255
8 Andy Lally 255
9 Justin Marks 249
9 Lawson Aschenbach 249
10 Jack Hawksworth 239

Rank Make Total
1 Cadillac 332
2 Acura 316
3 Nissan 302
4 Mazda 300

1 Ford 351
2 Chevrolet 345
3 Porsche 341
4 BMW 332
5 Ferrari 84

1 Lamborghini 340
2 Acura 330
3 Ferrari 310
4 Mercedes-AMG 307
5 Lexus 306
6 Porsche 298
7 Audi 284
8 BMW 278
Porsche Wins Manufacturers' Title With VIR Win

Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Gives Wynn's First GTD win
Monday, August 26, 2019


Winning #911 Porsche
Winning #911 Porsche
With its seventh win of the season, Porsche has secured the 2019 IMSA Weathertech Sportscar Championship GTLM Manufacturers’ title. The German marque did so in dominating fashion with a weekend sweep at Virginia International Raceway that saw a Porsche 911 RSR lead Free Practice 1, 2, and 3, score pole position in Qualifying and claim a 1-2 finish after two-hour and forty minutes of racing.

The #911 Porsche 911 of Nick Tandy and Patrick Pilet took home the win and stood up to constant pressure from their teammates in the #912 Porsche crossing the finishing line just 0.737 clear of the sister #912 Porsche of Laurens Vanthoor and Earl Bamber.

Corvette, Ford, and BMW could not manage a serious challenge to Porsche as the #911 Porsche and #912 Porsche ran away from the field all weekend. The two Porsches swapped the lead on two occasions, both times in the pits, including on the final stop that saw Tandy leapfrog Bamber.

A late Full-Course Yellow bunched the field but Tandy stayed poised, kept Bamber behind him, and redeemed himself from a crash in qualifying to guide Porsche to their manufacture’s title.

“It’s a perfect day we had a tough qualifying for Nick [Tandy] … but I told him to never give up and he did an excellent job.” Said Pilet, who became the winningest GTLM driver in IMSA since the 2014 merger with 12 wins.

Bamber and Vanthoor in the #912 Porsche came home in second after starting from pole. They finished 2.538 seconds clear of the #3 Corvette C7.R of Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen. That gap of almost three-seconds created in under 10 minutes is perfect evidence to the speed that Porsche had on the field all weekend.

Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Gives Wynn's First IMSA 

Jeroen Bleekemolen and Ben Keating
Jeroen Bleekemolen and Ben Keating

It was finally Mercedes-AMG’s turn atop the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship podium in 2019 and on Sunday at VIRginia International Raceway.

The No. 33 Riley Motorsports – Team AMG Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Jeroen Bleekemolen and Ben Keating scored their first victory – and podium – of the season in the GT Daytona (GTD) at the 3.27-mile circuit in Alton, Virginia.

In fact, it was the first podium of the season for the manufacturer in GTD and the first win for Bleekemolen and Keating since winning at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park last July.

“Golly, this has been a long time coming,” said Keating. “We’ve have had a great, car, a great team, and everything would have gone so well from a performance standpoint all season, and then we’d have the worst of luck. Today was almost the complete opposite.”

The win came as a result of a slightly different pit strategy than the rest of the GTD competitors. The team chose to pit two laps earlier than the leaders to save time on pit lane and save fuel on track.

Bleekemolen was third following the midrace handoff from Keating and with two laps on the tires, passed the leading No. 86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 of Mario Farnbacher and the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Scott Hargrove, fresh off pit lane on cold tires.

“Mario did an unbelievable job on the first lap,” said Keating. “But coming out of (the) Oak Tree (Turn), he went wide and it’s a pretty rough ride on the outside of there, and that allowed Jeroen to get a bit of a run all the way going down the back straight. From that point in time, once you have the position of being in the lead, it’s a little bit easier to save fuel. And this is one of those tracks where you can save fuel if you’re not really fighting hard for position.”

The win also capped off a special weekend for Bleekemolen, who competed in a late model race at the South Boston Speedway on Saturday night. Ironically, the GT Le Mans (GTLM) class winners on Sunday – Nick Tandy and Patrick Pilet in the No. 911 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR – also were in attendance as spectators.

Team Riley Mercedes
Team Riley Mercedes

Farnbacher and co-driver Trent Hindman held on for second place by .566 seconds to expand their championship lead to 37 points over Zacharie Robichon, Hargrove’s No. 9 Porsche co-driver. Robichon currently leads the duo by one point in the WeatherTech Sprint Cup, which reaches its conclusion following the upcoming race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Rounding out the GTD podium was the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa WeatherTech Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 of Cooper MacNeil and Toni Vilander, who made a last lap pass on Hargrove for the third position and the team’s third podium of the year.

Next up for the WeatherTech Championship is the penultimate round of the season at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on Sunday, Sept. 15. The two-hour, 40-minute race with all four classes will be televised live on the NBC network beginning at 3 p.m. ET.


11911GTLMP. Pilet/N. TandyPorsche 911 RSR880.000s0.000s
22912GTLME. Bamber/L. VanthoorPorsche 911 RSR880.7370.737
333GTLMJ. Magnussen/A. GarciaChevrolet Corvette C7.R883.2752.538
444GTLMO. Gavin/T. MilnerChevrolet Corvette C7.R883.9720.697
5567GTLMR. Briscoe/R. WestbrookFord GT884.3960.424
6666GTLMJ. Hand/D. MuellerFord GT889.5565.160
7725GTLMT. Blomqvist/C. De PhillippiBMW M8 GTE8812.5603.004
8824GTLMJ. Krohn/J. EdwardsBMW M8 GTE871 Lap1 Lap
9133GTDB. Keating/J. BleekemolenMercedes-AMG GT3862 Laps1 Lap
10286GTDM. Farnbacher/T. HindmanAcura NSX GT3862 Laps0.566
11363GTDC. MacNeil/T. VilanderFerrari 488 GT3862 Laps0.681
1249GTDS. Hargrove/Z. RobichonPorsche 911 GT3 R862 Laps1.580
13573GTDP. Lindsey/P. LongPorsche 911 GT3 R862 Laps0.273
14644GTDJ. Potter/A. LallyLamborghini Huracan GT3862 Laps5.274
15712GTDF. Montecalvo/T. BellLexus RC F GT3862 Laps1.347
16874GTDG. Robinson V/L. AschenbachMercedes-AMG862 Laps0.506
17976GTDP. Holton/M. PlumbMcLaren 720S GT3862 Laps59.305
181048GTDB. Sellers/C. LewisLamborghini Huracan GT3844 Laps2 Laps
191196GTDB. Auberlen/R. FoleyBMW M6 GT3835 Laps1 Lap
201257GTDK. Legge/A. PowellAcura NSX GT374DNF
211314GTDR. Heistand/J. HawksworthLexus RC F GT363

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article