Carlin to enter car in 2016 Indy 500

Trevor Carlin
Trevor Carlin

The Carlin team are looking into entering this year’s Indianapolis 500, providing it can set up a programmed with an existing team to assist them.

Carlin have ambitions to move into the Verizon IndyCar Series, and have three entries in 2016 in the supporting Indy Lights championship for Felix Serralles, Ed Jones and Neil Alberico, with a fourth car not impossible for some races.

But having set up a new facility in Florida to aid the American side of its extensive operations, Carlin are seeking an early entry into IndyCar, with the 100th running of the Indy 500 their preference Indianapolis 500, providing it can set up a program with an existing team to assist them

“We’d be ready to help and can put a great team together for someone if it happens," said team owner Trevor Carlin to “The aspiration for IndyCar is still there, and we like to do things in a step by step manner.

“We’ve made a commitment to America, we’ve expanded from two Indy Lights cars last year to three and have the ability to run a fourth, and we’ve now moved into our own facility in Florida in Delray Beach, so from that perspective, all we’ve done is grow and build our program here to keep moving the team forward.

“If we were able to begin a relationship with IndyCar at Indianapolis this year, it would be fantastic, and even if that does not work out, it is still our goal to enter the series as soon as it is feasible to do so." The Checkered Flag Indy 500 Car Count Table

Team Confirmed TBA Confirmed Drivers Possible Add'l Drivers
Chip Ganassi Racing 4 0 Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball, Max Chilton None
Team Penske 4 0 Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud None
Andretti Autosport 4 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Carlos Munoz, Alexander Rossi Chaves, Howard, Ku. Busch, Ky. Busch, or Truex
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 2 1 James Hinchcliffe, Mikhail Aleshin Howard, Ky. Busch, Truex or Davison
A.J. Foyt Enterprises 3 0 Takuma Sato, Jack Hawksworth, Alex Tagliani None
Dale Coyne Racing 4 0 Conor Daly, Luca Filippi, Bryan Clauson(Jonathan Byrd Racing), Pippa Mann None
KVSH Racing 2 2 Sebastien Bourdais, Matthew Brabham (Pirtek Team Murray) Servia, Ky. Busch, Truex or Legge(Grace Autosport)
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 2 0 Graham Rahal, Spencer Pigot None
Ed Carpenter Racing 3 0 Josef Newgarden, Ed Carpenter, JR Hildebrand None
Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1 1 Sage Karam T. Bell, Davison, or S. Wilson(Fan Force United)
Carlin Motorsports 0 1 None TBA
Total 29 6

Leave a Reply