Marquez Continues Record Run

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez’s perfect season rolls on.

The Spaniard pulled away in the second half of the Red Bull Indianapolis GP on Sunday, beating Jorge Lorenzo by 1.803 seconds to win for the second consecutive year on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and continue an incredible 2014 season.

The 21-year-old has won all 10 races so far on the MotoGP World Championship schedule, an extended run of dominance not seen in the sport since Australia’s Mick Doohan’s won 10 in a row in 1997.

“I cannot explain – every race I go to the weekend and I say, ‘OK, here maybe is the time to finish second or third. Here will be the time that I struggle,’" Marquez said. “But every race I feel so strong."

His afternoon at IMS began with a struggle as he fell from the pole position to fifth moments after the race began and needed 10 laps to work his way back to the front. But once there, the defending world champion held steady for the final 17 laps on his No. 93 Repsol Honda and became the first back-to-back champion at the Red Bull Indianapolis GP.

“The start was not so good, and in the beginning I had some moments," Marquez said. “Then when I saw the tire (come in), Jorge also attacked and tried to push in the front. I said, ‘OK, now is the time I overtake them’ and I started to push."

Marquez won for the fourth consecutive year at IMS, having also won in Moto2 in 2011 and 2012. In winning on Sunday, he also secured the 500th Grand Prix win for Spain. No. 499 came from Efren Vazquez, who started Sunday’s racing with a win in Moto3 after a fierce battle among five riders in the closing laps.

Italy’s Romano Fenati led coming into the front straightaway but Vazquez ran him down in his Honda for a 0.065-second margin at the Yard of Bricks and his first Moto3 victory.

“It was a really hard race for us and, I think, for every rider," Vazquez. “I will take it – the first victory."

Moto2 featured a dominant wire-to-wire performance by Mika Kallio of Finland, who led all 16 laps in a shortened race following an early red flag. His margin at the finish was 1.380 seconds over Maverick Vinales of Spain.

In the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series, Steve Rapp won in a five-bike shootout in the closing laps.


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 42'07.041
2 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +1.803
3 16 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +6.558
4 13 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +10.016
5 11 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +17.807
6 10 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +19.604
7 9 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati +20.759
8 8 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Ducati Team Ducati +39.796
9 7 45 Scott REDDING GBR GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda +40.507
10 6 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Drive M7 Aspar Honda +55.760
11 5 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Honda +1'05.130
12 4 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Avintia Racing Avintia +1'05.346
13 3 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha +1'08.919
14 2 70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1'09.203
15 1 23 Broc PARKES AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1'30.613
DNF 0 2 Leon CAMIER GBR Drive M7 Aspar Honda 8 Laps
DNF 0 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 13 Laps
DNF 0 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 15 Laps
DNF 0 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 15 Laps
DNF 0 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Octo IodaRacing Team ART 21 Laps
DNF 0 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Racing Avintia 22 Laps
DNF 0 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 0 Lap
DNF 0 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 0 Lap

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :