Scott McLaughlin equals Craig Lowndes’ Supercars’ record

Scott McLaughlin wins again
Scott McLaughlin wins again

Runaway Virgin Australia Supercars Championship leader Scott McLaughlin has written another chapter into the history books, equaling the great Craig Lowndes’ record of 16 race wins in a season.

It sets the young kiwi up for the opportunity to break Lowndes’ mark at his home track in Pukekohe in three weeks’ time, in what will be McLaughlin’s 100th career round start.

Today, the Shell V-Power Mustang ace had to fight back from third after veteran Will Davison and seven-time Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup outgunned the defending Champion at the start of the race.

Pit stop strategy handed McLaughlin the lead on the 19th lap and from there he never looked back before going on to claim his 41st career victory.

“It’s really awesome. I couldn’t be more proud of the guys for the turnaround we’ve had," said McLaughlin, who struggled at The Bend in 2018.

“It was one we circled to really come back for and I’m so stoked. It was super-racing, I didn’t get the best start, but good racing towards the end."

“I’m absolutely stoked with this result because it was such an intense race; really, really enjoyable," said Davison.

“We got such a good start and I was surprised I was hanging on, but then in our last stop we had a bit of an airbox issue and it cut back to about 15km/h in pitlane.

“I was actually relieved when it got going because it was not resetting itself. But that’s the way it goes."

It lifted McLaughlin past Glenn Seton to outright 6th on the all-time race win list, behind Whincup (114) Lowndes (107) Mark Skaife (90) Garth Tander (54) and Peter Brock (48).

Davison finished second while Chaz Mostert who finished second yesterday, rounded out today’s all Mustang podium.

Race 2 start
Race 2 start

Behind the leaders, Brad Jones Racing’s Nick Percat was the best of the Holden’s in fourth ahead of seven-time Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup.

Whincup’s Red Bull Holden teammate Shane van Gisbergen had one of the drives of the day, finished 6th after starting from 16th position. Yesterday’s third-place getter Anton De Pasquale was seventh this afternoon.

Cam Waters finished 8th in his Monster Energy Mustang and was lucky not to have gone off-track in the opening stages when he collided with former Tickford teammate Mark Winterbottom who started fourth. Winterbottom was pushed onto the grass, effectively ending his ambitions for a first podium result for his Irwin Racing Commodore team.

McLaughlin’s win today coupled with teammate Fabian Coulthard’s 10th placing, means McLaughlin now leads the Championship by 573 points from Mostert who leapfrogs into second place in the standings.

Coulthard drops back to third ahead of van Gisbergen and Whincup who round out the top five.

The next stop for teams will be New Zealand trip, the ITM Auckland SuperSprint which will run from 13-15 September.


1 17 McLaughlin G. Murphy Shell V-Power Racing Team +0.000
2 23 Davison Caruso, A. Davison Milwaukee Racing +2.469
3 55 Mostert Moffat Supercheap Auto Racing +3.628
4 8 Percat Blanchard, Walsh X Convenience Mobil Racing +14.460
5 88 Whincup Lowndes, Tander Red Bull Holden Racing Team +16.326
6 97 Van Gisbergen Lowndes, Tander Red Bull Holden Racing Team +20.476
7 99 A. de Pasquale W. Brown, L. Youlden Penrite Racing +26.912
8 6 C. Waters Caruso, A. Davison Monster Energy Racing Team +28.784
9 5 Holdsworth Moffat The Bottle-O Racing Team +29.196
10 12 Coulthard G. Murphy Shell V-Power Racing Team +31.837
11 15 R. Kelly B. Fullwood, Wood Castrol Racing +33.552
12 14 Slade Blanchard, Walsh Freightliner Racing +38.215
13 9 Reynolds W. Brown, L. Youlden Penrite Racing +44.300
14 35 T. Hazelwood Unit Racing +46.227
15 22 Courtney J. Perkins, W. Luff Mobil 1 MEGA Racing +49.915
16 2 S. Pye J. Perkins, W. Luff Mobil 1 MEGA Racing +52.022
17 66 T. Randle Scandia Racing +52.283
18 34 J. Golding R. Muscat, C. Pither Boost Mobile Racing +54.917
19 3 G. Jacobson D. Fiore, A. Rullo Racing +59.031
20 7 Heimgartner B. Fullwood, Wood Plus Fitness Racing +1:02.384
21 21 M. Jones D. Canto Team CoolDrive +1:04.169
22 78 S. De Silvestro D. Fiore, A. Rullo Team Harvey Norman +1:12.095
23 18 Winterbottom S. Richards Irwin Racing +1:15.103
24 33 R. Stanaway R. Muscat, C. Pither Boost Mobile Racing +1:18.616
25 19 J. Le Brocq J. Webb Truck Assist TEKNO Racing +1:19.180
26 4 J. Smith SCT Logistics Racing +1:47.027

Leave a Reply