Duval puts Audi on pole at LeMans

No. 2 Audi of Duval

Loic Duval remained on pole position for the 81st running of the Le Mans 24 Hours, as Audi scored the top three grid spots based on Wednesday's times.

Frenchman Duval, during Wednesday night's first session, set a 3m22.349s in the #2 R18 e-tron quattro he shares with Briton Allan McNish and Dane Tom Kristensen.

Starting the race from position two on Saturday will be the number -1' Audi R18 e-tron quattro of last year's winners Marcel Fassler (Switzerland), Andre Lotterer (Germany) and Benoit Treluyer (France). Andre Lotterer was one of the few drivers who in the final qualifying session on Thursday night managed to improve over the day before on a track that was just slowly drying after rain showers and, by setting a time of 3m 23.696s, advanced from third to second place.

Le Mans newcomer Lucas di Grassi (Brazil), Marc Gene (Spain) and Oliver Jarvis (Great Britain) in the number -3' Audi R18 e-tron quattro secured third place. The fastest lap of this squad (3m 24.341s) was driven on Wednesday by the seasoned campaigner Marc Gene.

Toyota was 4seconds down on Duval's pacesetting time.

When the checkered flag flew at midnight on Wednesday, the #8 of Anthony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Stephane Sarrazin was fourth thanks to a lap of 3mins 26.654secs from Stephane in the final minutes of qualifying.

The #7 TS030 HYBRID of Alex Wurz, Nicolas Lapierre and Kazuki Nakajima starts fifth after a best lap of 3mins 26.676secs, set by Kazuki during Wednesday's first qualifying session.

Nissan-powered cars took the first three positions in the LM P2 class during qualifying for the 2013 Le Mans 24 Hours tonight. All three qualifying sessions were affected by lengthy red flag periods which has made it tough on the teams and most opted to run in race trim for tonight's sessions in order to prepare for 24 hours of flat out racing coming their way this weekend.

The No.24 Oak Racing Morgan-Nissan will start the race from pole position and will be joined on the front row of the LM P2 grid by the No.26 Oreca-Nissan of G-Drive Racing, followed by the Zytek-Nissan of Jota Sport.

The No.42 Greaves Motorsport entry took 12th place after running in full race trim during qualifying. Rookie Le Mans racer Jann Mardenborough completed all the running he needed to qualify for the race.

As on Wednesday the LM GTE Pro category was dominated by Aston Martin, and no. 99 (Makowiecki, Senna, Bell), already quickest yesterday improve its time to 3m54.635s followed by another Aston no. 97 (3m55.455s) and the first Porsche No. 92 in 3m55.491s. It was the same story in LM GTE Am thanks to Nygaard, Poulsen and Simonsen's V8 Vantage (no. 95, 3m55.776s) from the no. 88 Porsche (3m58.889s) and the no. 96 Aston Martin Vantage V8 (3m59.805s).

The cars entered in the Le Mans 24 Hours will have a final 45-minute warm-up session on Saturday 22nd June at 9 h 00 before the start of the 90th anniversary race at 15 h 00.


Pos Cl Drivers Team/Car Time Behind
1. P1 Kristensen/McNish/Duval Audi 3m22.349s +0.000s
2. P1 di Grassi/Gene/Jarvis Audi 3m23.696s +1.347s
3. P1 Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler Audi 3m24.341s +1.992s
4. P1 Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin Toyota 3m26.654s +4.305s
5. P1 Wurz/Lapierre/Nakajima Toyota 3m26.676s +4.327s
6. P1 Prost/Jani/Heidfeld Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3m28.935s +6.586s
7. P1 Belicchi/Beche/Cheng Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3m32.167s +9.818s
8. P1 Kane/Watts/Leventis Strakka HPD 3m36.547s +14.198s
9. P2 Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle OAK Morgan-Nissan 3m38.621s +16.272s
10. P2 Rusinov/M.Martin/Conway Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan 3m39.535s +17.186s
11. P2 Dolan/Turvey/Luhr Jota Zytek-Nissan 3m40.459s +18.110s
12. P2 Gachnang/Mailleux/Lombard Morand Morgan-Judd 3m40.741s +18.392s
13. P2 Graves/Nakano/Hamilton Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan 3m40.925s +18.576s
14. P2 Imperatori/Tung/Howson KCMG Morgan-Nissan 3m41.042s +18.693s
15. P2 Hartley/Patterson/Chandhok Murphy ORECA-Nissan 3m41.569s +19.220s
16. P2 Panciatici/Ragues/Gommendy Signatech ORECA-Nissan 3m41.654s +19.305s
17. P2 Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman OAK Morgan-Nissan 3m41.854s +19.505s
18. P2 Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer Pecom ORECA-Nissan 3m43.420s +21.071s
19. P2 Thiriet/Badey/M.Martin TDS ORECA-Nissan 3m43.494s +21.145s
20. P2 Mardenborough/Ordonez/Krumm Greaves Zytek-Nissan 3m44.421s +22.072s
21. P2 Kimber-Smith/Rossi/Lux Greaves Zytek-Nissan 3m44.621s +22.272s
22. P2 Frey/Niederhauser/Bleekemolen Race Perf' ORECA-Judd 3m45.244s +22.895s
23. P2 Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz Lotus-Praga 3m45.274s +22.925s
24. P2 Weeda/Rossiter/Bouchut Lotus-Praga 3m47.920s +25.571s
25. P2 Nicolet/Merlin/Mondolot OAK Morgan-Nissan 3m48.196s +25.847s
26. P2 Tucker/Franchitti/Briscoe Level 5 HPD 3m48.597s +26.248s
27. P2 Giroix/Haezebrouck/Ihara Gulf Lola-Nissan 3m49.096s +26.747s
28. P2 Mowlem/Burgess/Hirschi HVM Status Lola-Judd 3m49.805s +27.456s
29. GTP Bell/Makowiecki/Senna Aston Martin 3m54.635s +32.286s
30. GTP Dumbreck/Mucke/Turner Aston Martin 3m55.445s +33.096s
31. GTP Lieb/Lietz/Dumas Manthey Porsche 3m55.491s +33.142s
32. GTP Bruni/Fisichella/Malucelli AF Corse Ferrari 3m55.909s +33.560s
33. GTP Auberlen/Dalla Lana/Lamy Aston Martin 3m56.336s +33.987s
34. GTP Beretta/Kobayashi/Vilander AF Corse Ferrari 3m56.471s +34.122s
35. GTP Bergmeister/Pilet/Bernhard Manthey Porsche 3m56.573s +34.224s
36. P2 Porta/Raffin/Brandela DKR Lola-Judd 3m56.905s +34.556s
37. P2 Downs/Dagoneau/Younessi Boutsen ORECA-Nissan 3m57.139s +34.790s
38. GTA Nygaard/Poulsen/Simonsen Aston Martin 3m57.776s +35.427s
39. GTP Westbrook/Gavin/Milner Corvette 3m58.644s +36.295s
40. GTA Ried/Roda/Ruberti Proton Porsche 3m58.889s +36.540s
41. GTP Magnussen/Garcia/Taylor Corvette 3m59.526s +37.177s
42. GTA Hall/Goethe/Campbell-Walter Aston Martin 3m59.805s +37.456s
43. GTA Gerber/Griffin/Cioci AF Ferrari 3m59.997s +37.648s
44. GTA Milesi/Gibon/Henzler Imsa Porsche 4m00.503s +38.154s
45. GTP Collard/Perrodo/Crubile Prospeed Porsche 4m00.682s +38.333s
46. GTP Dalziel/Farnbacher/Goossens SRT Viper 4m00.802s +38.453s
47. GTA Dempsey/Foster/Long Dempsey Porsche 4m00.916s +38.567s
48. GTA Narac/Bourret/Vernay Imsa Porsche 4m01.713s +39.364s
49. GTA Potolicchio/Aguas/Bright 8star Ferrari 4m01.934s +39.585s
50. GTP Bomarito/Kendall/Wittmer SRT Viper 4m03.461s +41.112s
51. GTA Perazzini/Case/O'Young AF Corse Ferrari 4m03.966s +41.617s
52. GTA MacNeil/Rodrigues/Dumas Larbre Corvette 4m04.512s +42.163s
53. GTA Bornhauser/Canal/Taylor Larbre Corvette 4m04.873s +42.524s
54. GTP Bertolini/Al Faisal/Al Qubaisi JMW Ferrari 4m05.417s +43.068s
55. GTA Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank AF Ferrari 4m09.064s +46.715s
56. GTA Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani Krohn Ferrari 4m16.233s +53.884

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com