Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney Win in Austin

The winning No. 99 Red Dragon

The Red Dragon returned to Victory Lane in the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series after a long absence Saturday. Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney won the GRAND-AM of The Americas Presented by GAINSCO and TOTAL in their No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing Corvette DP in an unpredictable race on the 3.4-mile Circuit Of The Americas.

The pole-winning car led the final seven laps – its only stint out front – as Fogarty and Gurney won in the Rolex Series for the first time since late 2011. The GAINSCO/Bob Stallings crew appeared destined for a runner-up finish until Brendon Hartley in the leading No. 8 Starworks Motorsport Ford/Riley made contact with a GT car and stopped off circuit.

Gurney was one of the first drivers to make his final pit stop, which came 20 minutes before the race’s last full-course yellow. As each of the cars in front of Gurney pitted, he moved up to second at the restart.

“It’s great to be back," Gurney said. “We finished second quite a few times last year, and man, what a day! We pushed it so hard the whole way. It was an incredible battle at the end with [Ryan)] Dalziel and [Scott] Pruett, and it feels amazing to hold them off. We had 500 GAINSCO guests today, and we created 500 new racing fans. They were all going crazy."

Dalziel and Alex Popow were second in the No. 2 Starworks Ford/Riley. Championship leaders Pruett and Memo Rojas were third in the No. 01 TELMEX Target Chip Ganassi Racing BMW/Riley.

In GT, Bill Auberlen went from 12th to a class victory in Turner Motorsport’s No. 94 BMW M3. He and Paul Dalla Lana capped a remarkable day after winning in the Grand Sport class of the Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge on Saturday morning. They are the only drivers to win races in both series on the same day, having previously accomplished the feat in 2011 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

In the Rolex Series race, they came from two laps down after an early spin on the uphill run to Turn 1.

Auberlen made what turned out to be the winning pass with seven minutes left when he got around Andy Lally in the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 Cup. Alessandro Pier Guidi in the No. 63 Scuderia Corse Ferrari 458 crossed the finish line first in the GT class but was assessed a one-lap, plus 90-second penalty after the race for avoidable contact with Lally five minutes from the end.

“I didn’t see what happened with Andy and the Ferrari, but it slowed Lally down and he came back to me," Auberlen said. “I had a move ready and I put it into action. It got tight, we bumped a few times and ran out a few times. Andy got mad, and I apologize if he felt I did him wrong, but I don’t race dirty. This was a great win for Turner. This team is good enough to win races, so there’s no reason we shouldn’t try to win everything we get our hands on."

Lally and John Potter were second, and the No. 59 Brumos Racing Porsche GT3 Cup of Andrew Davis and Leh Keen finished third.

BGB Motorsports won in GX with drivers Dr. Jim Norman, Jeff Mosing and Spencer Pumpelly. The trio led all but 12 laps of the race, and Norman was two laps clear of Sylvain Tremblay in the No. 70 Speedsource Mazda 6 GX at the checkered flag. Tremblay, who drove with Tom Long, lost time with a fuel line issue.

The next Rolex Series race is the Porsche 250 at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala., on Saturday, April 6.


Place, Car No., Class, PIC, Driver, Laps, Team

1 99 DP 1 Alex Gurney 71 Corvette DP Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing

2 2 DP 2 Ryan Dalziel 71 Ford Riley Starworks Motorsport

3 1 DP 3 Scott Pruett 71 BMW Riley Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates

4 3 DP 4 Stephane Sarrazin 71 Corvette DP 8 Star Motorsports

5 5 DP 5 Christian Fittipaldi 71 Corvette DP Action Express Racing

6 76 DP 6 Nic Jonsson 71 Ford Lola Krohn Racing

7 6 DP 7 Antonio Pizzonia 71 Ford Riley Michael Shank Racing

8 42 DP 8 Dane Cameron 71 BMW Riley Team Sahlen

9 77 DP 9 Colin Braun 71 Ford Dallara Doran Racing

10 10 DP 10 Max Angelelli 71 Corvette DP Wayne Taylor Racing

11 90 DP 11 Richard Westbrook 70 Corvette DP Spirit of Daytona Racing

12 27 DP 12 Anthony Massari 70 Ford Riley BTE Sport

13 63 GT 1 Alessandro Pier Guidi 68 Ferrari 458 Scuderia Corsa

14 94 GT 2 Bill Auberlen 67 BMW M3 Turner Motorsport

15 44 GT 3 Andy Lally 67 Porsche GT3 Cup Magnus Racing

16 59 GT 4 Leh Keen 67 Porsche GT3 Cup Brumos Racing

17 73 GT 5 Patrick Long 67 Porsche GT3 Cup Park Place Motorsports

18 69 GT 6 Anthony Lazzaro 67 Ferrari 458 AIM Autosport Team FXDD

19 72 GT 7 Mike Skeen 67 Porsche GT3 Cup Park Place Motorsports

20 3 GT 8 Johannes van Overbeek 67 Ferrari 458 Extreme Speed Motorsports

21 93 GT 9 Gunter Schaldach 67 BMW M3 Turner Motorsport

22 18 GT 10 Dion von Moltke 67 Porsche GT3 Cup Muehlner Motorsports America

23 61 GT 11 Jeff Segal 67 Ferrari 458 R.Ferri/Aim Motorsport Racing

24 71 GT 12 Jason Hart 66 Porsche GT3 Cup Park Place Motorsports

25 31 GT 13 Eric Curran 65 Corvette Marsh Racing

26 19 GT 14 Eduardo Costabal 65 Porsche GT3 Cup Muehlner Motorsports America

27 8 DP 13 Brendon Hartley 63 Ford Riley Starworks Motorsport

28 57 GT 15 Robin Liddell 63 Camaro GT.R Stevenson Motorsports

29 9 DP 14 Joao Barbosa 62 Corvette DP Action Express Racing

30 38 GX 1 Jim Norman 62 Porsche Cayman GX BGB Motorsports

31 52 GT 16 Ian Baas 60 Audi R8 GRAND-AM APR Motorsport Ltd.UK

32 70 GX 2 Sylvain Tremblay 58 Mazda 6 GX Mazdaspeed/Speedsource

33 43 DP 15 Will Nonnamaker 52 BMW Riley Team Sahlen

34 60 DP 16 Oswaldo Negri Jr 49 Ford Riley Michael Shank Racing

35 0 GX 3 Tristan Nunez 39 Mazda 6 GX Visit Florida Racing/Speedsource Drive Shaft

Leave a Reply