Bottas tops Practice 3 in Baku

Bottas tops practice 3
Bottas tops practice 3

Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas nipped Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen by just 0.095 sec. to lead the final practice session for the Azerbaijan GP. The session was again interrupted by numerous local yellows as driver after driver went down escape road on the slippery track.

Lewis Hamilton was third for Mercedes but his time of 1m43.158s was 0.416 sec slower than his teammate.

Hamilton was closely followed by Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, Force India’s Esteban Ocon, Friday pacesetter Verstappen, and Williams’ Felipe Massa – who was very lucky to survive a brush with the walls at Turn 8, where the curbs were lowered overnight following Friday’s crashes.

Lance Stroll put in another strong showing for Williams around the Baku City Circuit, taking ninth place behind the Toro Rosso of Daniil Kvyat. Sergio Perez completed the top ten in the second Force India.

Sebastian Vettel only turned a few laps at speed as the Ferrari spent most of the session in the garage with major problems.

Fernando Alonso’s second practice in Baku was derailed by a gearbox failure, and not an engine issue, according to Eric Boullier.

Alonso was forced to park his MCL32 on the side of the track during Friday’s second practice for the Azerbaijan GP, crying “engine, engine" as he slowed down.

However, according to racing director Eric Boullier, it wasn’t actually an engine problem.

“It wasn’t an engine failure," he said. “It was a gearbox failure."


1 77 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 1:42.742 +0.000s 21
2 7 Kimi Raikkonen FERRARI 1:42.837 +0.095s 14
3 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 1:43.158 +0.416s 23
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING 1:43.287 +0.545s 24
5 31 Esteban Ocon FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 1:43.344 +0.602s 21
6 33 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING 1:43.614 +0.872s 16
7 19 Felipe Massa WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:43.738 +0.996s 18
8 26 Daniil Kvyat TORO ROSSO 1:43.908 +1.166s 21
9 18 Lance Stroll WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:44.040 +1.298s 17
10 11 Sergio Perez FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 1:44.138 +1.396s 22
11 27 Nico Hulkenberg RENAULT 1:44.312 +1.570s 16
12 5 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 1:44.344 +1.602s 7
13 55 Carlos Sainz TORO ROSSO 1:44.401 +1.659s 23
14 14 Fernando Alonso MCLAREN HONDA 1:44.741 +1.999s 18
15 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 1:44.926 +2.184s 20
16 2 Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN HONDA 1:45.143 +2.401s 17
17 8 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 1:45.491 +2.749s 20
18 9 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 1:45.645 +2.903s 21
19 94 Pascal Wehrlein SAUBER FERRARI 1:45.722 +2.980s 19
20 30 Jolyon Palmer RENAULT 1:53.040 +10.298s 4

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :