Barrichello on pole position to narrow title chase

A happy Barrichello
A happy Barrichello

Rubens Barrichello has got a clear plan in his mind: to take as many points as possible from his title rival Felipe Fraga. The first part he managed to accomplish Saturday afternoon in Goiania – the 2014 champion took pole position for round 10. He set two flying laps to take Marcos Gomes off from provisional pole. Championship leader Felipe Fraga starts third.

"At this moment it is like I am competing against the track, the time, against myself. It is where I give everything I have got. Because I think Felipe (Fraga) now starts to race in a more conservative mode – he has to save points, not risking them. On the other hand, I cannot afford to so – I have to aim for the victories", said Barrichello, who got his third pole position this season.

Gomes will start 2nd
Gomes will start 2nd

As part of the last three drivers to enter the track – following the championship classification -, provisional pole was in the hands of reigning champion Marcos Gomes. His laptime was only beaten by Barrichello – twice, after he dropped his fastest lap by one tenth in his final lap – reaching 1m25.275s.

"I have to fight to keep myself ahead in the first race Sunday and to score more points than Fraga. We have to stay alive in this battle until the very last race of the season", Rubens stated.

Valdeno Brito, Diego Nunes, Nestor Girolami, Lucas Foresti, Ricardo Mauricio, Max Wilson and Daniel Serra closed the top-10 on the grid. The main race starts tomorrow at 2 pm (local time) for 45 minutes which award the winner 30 points; feature race starts right after the podium at 3:10 for 30 minutes and 15 points to the winner.

Starting Grid*:
1-) 111 Rubens Barrichello (Full Time Sports) – 1m25s275
2-) 80 Marcos Gomes (Cimed Racing) -1m25s482
3-) 88 Felipe Fraga (Cimed Racing) – 1m25s490
4-) 77 Valdeno Brito (TMG Racing) – 1m25s520
5-) 70 Diego Nunes (Uniao Quimica Racing) – 1m25s552
6-) 63 Nestor Girolami (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1m25s654
7-) 12 Lucas Foresti (Full Time-ProGP) – 1m25s666
😎 90 Ricardo Mauricio (Eurofarma RC) – 1m25s717
9-) 65 Max Wilson (Eurofarma RC) – 1m25s719
10-) 29 Daniel Serra (Red Bull Racing) – 1m25s722
11-) 21 Thiago Camilo (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1m25s776
12-) 0 Cacá Bueno (Red Bull Racing) – 1m25s780
13-) 8 Rafael Suzuki (Vogel Motorsport) – 1m25s843
14-) 28 Galid Osman (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1m25s893
15-) 4 Julio Campos (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1m25s944
16-) 10 Ricardo Zonta (Shell Racing) – 1m25s947
17-) 9 Guga Lima (TMG Racing) – 1m26s003
18-) 5 Denis Navarro (Vogel Motorsport) – 1m26s009
19-) 18 Allam Khodair (Full Time Sports) – 1m26s141
20-) 46 Vitor Genz (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1m26s163
21-) 51 Atila Abreu (Shell Racing) – 1m26s171
22-) 83 Gabriel Casagrande (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1m26s203
23-) 110 Felipe Lapenna (Hot Car Competicoes) – 1m26s243
24-) 73 Sergio Jimenez (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1m26s331
25-) 3 Bia Figueiredo (Uniao Quimica Racing) – 1m26s349
26-) 117 Guilherme Salas (RZ Motorsport) -1m26s447
27-) 26 Raphael Abbate (Hot Car Competicoes) – 1m26s562
28-) 25 Tuka Rocha (RZ Motorsport) – 1m26s733
29-) 99 Xandynho Negrao (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1m27s160
*Results subject to official confirmation by the stewards

Leave a Reply