Third season win for Marco Wittmann, BMW 1-2

#11 Marco Wittmann (GER, BMW Team RMG, BMW M4 DTM), #31 Tom Blomqvist (GBR, BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM), #53 Jamie Green (GBR, Audi Sport Team Rosberg, Audi RS5 DTM)
#11 Marco Wittmann (GER, BMW Team RMG, BMW M4 DTM), #31 Tom Blomqvist (GBR, BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM), #53 Jamie Green (GBR, Audi Sport Team Rosberg, Audi RS5 DTM)

Marco Wittmann extended his points' lead in the DTM drivers' standings with an undisputed lights-to-flag victory in the race at the Nurburgring on Saturday. In pleasant late-summerly conditions, the BMW driver won the 30 lap race with a margin of 7.136 seconds from his fellow BMW driver Tom Blomqvist. For Wittmann, it was the eighth DTM race win of his career and the third of the 2016 season. "Unbelievable. This was a great race," Wittmann commented after the race.

"I had a good start and tried to avoid making any mistakes. I was pushing flat-out all the time to maintain focus and concentration. This is a special win, especially for my team RMG and team principal Stefan Reinhold. For the guys, the Nurburgring is their home track."

Wittmann gets jump at the start
Wittmann gets jump at the start

Having taken the checkered flag in third place with his Audi RS 5 DTM, Jamie Green claimed the final podium slot in the Eifel. His fellow Audi driver Edoardo Mortara finished fourth from Timo Glock with another BMW.

Paul Di Resta was the best-placed Mercedes-AMG driver in sixth position. Second in the championship, Robert Wickens, who had started the race from 13th on the grid, crossed the finish line in ninth place behind Lucas Auer and Maxime Martin and thus lost important points in the battle for the DTM title.

In the DTM drivers' standings, Wittmann has extended his lead to 35 points with his race win. With a total of 155 points, he is leading Wickens (120 points), Green (119 points) and Edoardo Mortara (112 points). With five races still remaining and 125 points at stake, nothing is decided in the battle for the title yet.

The second DTM race at the Nurburgring will start on Sunday at 15.10 hrs (ARD live from 15.00 hrs). Prior to that, the starting grid positions for the 14th race of the DTM season will be decided in qualifying from 12.50 hrs (live on One, formerly known as Einsfestival from 12.45 hrs).


1 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 0.000s
2 Tom Blomqvist RBM BMW 7.136s
3 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 9.031s
4 Edoardo Mortara Abt Audi 9.783s
5 Timo Glock RMG BMW 11.768s
6 Paul Di Resta HWA Mercedes 15.256s
7 Lucas Auer Mucke Mercedes 16.086s
8 Maxime Martin RBM BMW 23.232s
9 Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes 32.197s
10 Maximilian Gotz HWA Mercedes 34.656s
11 Nico Muller Abt Audi 35.080s
12 Felix Rosenqvist ART Mercedes 35.474s
13 Christian Vietoris Mucke Mercedes 36.626s
14 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 39.610s
15 Miguel Molina Abt Audi 42.009s
16 Martin Tomczyk Schnitzer BMW 43.445s
17 Daniel Juncadella HWA Mercedes 43.974s
18 Bruno Spengler MTEK BMW 45.506s
19 Gary Paffett ART Mercedes 47.271s
20 Antonio Felix da Costa Schnitzer BMW 49.613s
21 Timo Scheider Phoenix Audi 53.224s
22 Augusto Farfus MTEK BMW 54.631s
23 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 7 Laps
Adrien Tambay Rosberg Audi Retirement

Leave a Reply