Andretti’s Faust takes Phoenix GRC pole

The 2016 Red Bull GRC season kicks off with a doubleheader for the first time in series history, as drivers will battle for a pair of victories at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in Phoenix. At 0.929 miles, the Wild Horse Pass course features 12 turns, multiple dirt sections, and a Joker Lap that allows drivers to bypass the jump once per race session. Tanner Foust and Scott Speed will team up together for a third straight season, forming one of the strongest pairings in the sport. Foust set the best time for the day out of the 11 car field, while Speed suffered a mechanical issue that ended his day in the last qualifying position.

NBC Sports will have a broadcast of this weekend’s Global Rallycross races from Phoenix on Sunday from 2-4pm ET on NBCSN. Fans can see it all in spectacular high definition via NBC Sports Live Extra online at Stay up to date on all things Andretti via and @FollowAndretti.


– The 2015 Red Bull Global Rallycross champion suffered a mechanical issue during today's qualifying session, ultimately ending his day in the last position.

“The good news is that our Beetle GRC is fast, it was fast in practice and Tanner (Foust) was able to continue that in qualifying and get the pole. Unfortunately for us, we had a mechanical gremlin that creeped up right before qualifying and we weren’t able to get it sorted out in time, therefore we qualified last. The more important news is that we’re fast and that won’t change throughout the season. We won’t start well, but at least well continue to have speed throughout the season and that’s always more important."


– The Rockstar Energy Drink driver finished on the pole during the Round 1 qualifying session in Phoenix, AZ.
"The first event of any championship is the moment of truth for the team and drivers. It’s the first time you can see what improvements other teams have made and how your hard work in the off season has or hasn’t paid off. Qualifying P1 in the opening qualifying session in race number one is a great vindication for the team as Andretti and Volkswagen have been working around the clock tweaking the Beetle GRC to be as good as it can be."


1 34 Tanner Foust Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 48.358
2 18 Patrik Sandell Bryan Herta Rallysport 48.421
3 31 Joni Wiman Honda Red Bull OMSE 48.748
4 38 Brian Deegan Chip Ganassi Racing 48.779
5 00 Steve Arpin Chip Ganassi Racing 49.172
6 07 Jeff Ward SH Rallycross 49.961
7 67 Rhys Millen Rhys Millen Racing 50.476
8 93 Sebastian Eriksson Honda Red Bull OMSE 48.866
9 14 Austin Dyne AD Racing 50.647
10 41 Scott Speed Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 55.498
11 77 Sebastian Saavedra AD Racing No Time

Leave a Reply