Changes on the NASCAR drivers council

Jimmie Johnson now on council
Jimmie Johnson now on council

Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch are now part of NASCAR's nine-member drivers council, which enters its first full season as an official group. Returning members include Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart, Kyle Larson, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano. Jeff Gordon(retired), Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle and Clint Bowyer are no longer on the council.

The drivers communicate frequently using the group text function on their phones – sending daily messages – and hold meetings with NASCAR every few months. It was formed last spring and drivers held their first meeting with NASCAR in late May. Earnhardt acts as somewhat of a secretary for the group, managing the voting for elected positions (there are also spots for drivers who automatically qualify based on the point standings).

Keselowski was elected – and was pleasantly surprised by it. He called it his "Sally Field moment" because there's been talk Keselowski isn't respected in the garage, but he was obviously respected enough to get voted onto the council. The current group met recently and discussed topics like tires, race day operations and the 2017 aero package, which Busch said is already under consideration. USA Today

Leave a Reply