New Chili Bowl gets Pre-Entry Record

While barely pushing past last year’s pre-entry record of 330, the close of business on Sunday, Dec. 27 showed 331 entries for the 30th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, happening Jan. 12-16, 2016 inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla.

With the pre-entry list going above the 330 mark, the official participant record of 326, also set in 2015, is next in line to be toppled. There are currently 306 confirmed drivers.

Among the latest wave of entries is the Loyet lineup with five drivers making up this year’s Orange Army. Brad Loyet’s five feature appearances leads the quintet of talent with Washington’s Gary Taylor looking for appearance No. 3. New Zealand’s Brad Mosen put his name on the feature roster in 2010, and makes his return to the Chili Bowl Nationals roster for the first time since 2012. Missouri’s Hunter Schuerenberg and California’s Dominic Scelzi complete the Loyet lineup with each looking of their first trip to Saturday’s big dance.

Balancing between ARCA testing in Daytona and the Chili Bowl, Alabama’s Kevin Thomas Jr. will pilot an Indy Race Parts entry with Kevin Swindell Motorsports playing a role in the team’s comings and goings. Six 8 Motorsports has also entered a pair of drivers with Ronnie Gardner and Jake Swanson filling the seats. Another set to teammates making the list is California’s Chad Boespflug and Ohio’s Landon Simon for Bill Ecker and Amy Reisdorf.

Sitting at 51 past feature starters, the list of first timers has shot up to 65 with rookies making their way to the Tulsa Expo Raceway from 25 states and three countries. The overall state count stands at 34 with the overall countries represented currently at five (United States, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and New Zealand).

Leave a Reply