Julius Baer Punta del Este ePrix Qualifying Groups

Qualifying groups for the 2015 FIA Formula E Julius Baer Punta del Este ePrix have been announced (see below).

New for this season, qualifying now contains a Super Pole shoot-out to secure Julius Baer pole position. Qualifying is a straight fight to set the fastest time and determines the starting grid for the race.

The qualifying session lasts one hour and sees drivers divided into groups with each group having six minutes to set their best lap. Full power of 200kW is available throughout with drivers only able to use one car. The five fastest drivers then go out one-by-one in the Super Pole shoot-out.

The fifth fastest driver from the group stages goes out first, when he crosses the line to start his flying lap, the pitlane light turns green and the fourth fastest driver heads out onto the track and so on. The driver who sets the fastest time will be awarded three points.

Group 1

Jean-Eric Vergne
Nelson Piquet Jr
Oliver Turvey
Nathanael Berthon

Group 2

Jerome D’Ambrosio
Nicolas Prost
Robin Frijns
Sam Bird
Lucas di Grassi

Group 3

Daniel Abt
Antonio Felix da Costa
Stephane Sarrazin
Loic Duval
Oliver Rowland

Group 4

Bruno Senna
Simona de Silvestro
Sebastien Buemi
Jacques Villeneuve

Leave a Reply